Mujica, Vogt, Teeter, Marino, Rousouli and Spencer to Star in Muny Hairspray

News   Mujica, Vogt, Teeter, Marino, Rousouli and Spencer to Star in Muny Hairspray
Casting has been announced for the upcoming production of the Tony Award-winning musical Hairspray, which will begin performances Aug. 3 at the St. Louis Muny, the nation's oldest and largest outdoor theatre.
Ashley Spencer
Ashley Spencer

Directed by Matt Lenz, the cast will be headed by Joline Mujica as Tracy Turnblad, Paul Vogt as Edna Turnblad, Lara Teeter as Wilbur Turnblad, Kasey Marino as Corny Collins, Constantine Rousouli as Link Larkin, Ashley Spencer as Amber Von Tussle, Susann Fletcher as Velma Von Tussle, Meggie Cansler as Penny Pingleton, Christian White as Seaweed J. Stubbs, Charlotte Crossley as Motormouth Maybelle, Delaney Haynes as Little Inez, Jenn Perry as Female Authority Figure and Anthony James as Male Authority Figure with Ashley Blanchet, Gabrielle McClinton, Iris Buress as The Dynamites.

The ensemble comprises James Anthony, Hettie Barnhill, Callan Bermann, Ashley Blanchet, Iris Buress, Amanda Choate,Nicole Hren, Andy Jones, Bryan Langlitz, Melvin Brandon Logan, Gabrielle McClinton, Mary Michael Patterson, Amaker Smith, Cary Tedder, Jeanne Trevor, Kirstin Tucker and Richard Riaz Yoder.

Performances continue through Aug. 9.

The production will also feature the original Jerry Mitchell Broadway choreography, re-created and adapted for The Muny by Michele Lynch. The creative team also includes musical director Ross Rawlings, set designer Michael Anania, lighting designer David Lander, sound designer Jason Krueger, stage manager Matthew Lacey, assistant stage manager Timothy Eake and associate producer Mike Bosner. Paul Blake produces for The Muny.

Hairspray, based on the 1988 John Waters film of the same name, won 2003 Tony Awards for Best Score (Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman), Best Book (Thomas Meehan and Mark O'Donnell), Best Actress in a Musical (Marissa Jaret Winokur), Best Actor (Harvey Fierstein), Best Featured Actor in a Musical (Dick Latessa), Best Costume Design (William Ivey Long), Best Musical and Best Direction of a Musical. The Muny currently presents Camelot through Aug. 2.

For more information call (314) 361-1900, ext. 550 or visit

Today’s Most Popular News: