Nathan Lane to be Honored with Monte Cristo Award Among Broadway's Finest

News   Nathan Lane to be Honored with Monte Cristo Award Among Broadway's Finest
The Eugene O'Neill Theater Center has announced that it will present two-time Tony winner Nathan Lane with the 15th Monte Cristo Award on April 13. Given annually, the award recognizes a theater artist's distinguished career that exemplifies Eugene O'Neill's "pioneering spirit, unceasing artistic commitment, and excellence."

The ceremony will be held at the Edison Ballroom on West 47th Street, New York. Attending guests will include Broadway stars Matthew Broderick, Brian Dennehy, Colman Domingo, Cady Huffman, Theresa Rebeck, Susan Stroman and Hal Prince.

Further guests set to attend include Halley Feiffer, Hunter Bell, Jeff Bowen, Michael Berresse, Jenni Barber, Pam Arciero, Jim Calhoun, Tom Viertel, Betsy and George C. White (Founder of the O’Neill), Wendy C. Goldberg (Artistic Director, National Playwrights Conference), Preston Whiteway (Executive Director of the O’Neill), Marc Bruni, Robert Falls, John McDaniel, Pat Daily, Ruth Hendel and many more.

Honoree Lane joins past recipients Meryl Streep, Christopher Plummer, Michael Douglas, James Earl Jones, Harold Prince, Kevin Spacey, Neil Simon and Edward Albee among others.

Founded in 1964, the Eugene O’Neill Theater Center in Waterford, CT is a leading organization dedicated to the development of new works and new voices for American theatre, carrying the legacy of its namesake: four-time Pulitzer Prize winner and America's only playwright to win the Nobel Prize in literature, Eugene O'Neill.

For more information on the theater center please visit

Today’s Most Popular News: