National Playwrights Conference Begins at O'Neill Center July 6 | Playbill

News National Playwrights Conference Begins at O'Neill Center July 6
The Eugene O'Neill Theater Center's National Playwrights Conference, featuring works by Quiara Alegría Hudes, Anna Ziegler and Keith Reddin, begins July 6 in Waterford, CT.

Under the leadership of artistic director Wendy C. Goldberg, the National Playwrights Conference will nurture eight new plays through July 30.

Jen Haley's The Nether  features Michael Countryman (Mary Stuart), Jon Devries, Megan Green and Jeanine Seralles under the direction of Lisa Peterson (July 6-7).

The Happiest Song Plays Last by Tony Award nominee Hudes (In the Heights) will include Armando Riesco (Becky Shaw), Demo Chrysan, Kevin Geer, Zabryna Guevara, Najla Said, Jaime Tireli and musician Nelson Gonzales. Eddie Torres will direct (July 8-9).

Christina Anderson's Good Goods, directed by Mia Rovegno, will feature Cherise Booth, Frank Harts, Tyrone Henderson, Aja King, Curtis McClarin and Hubert Point Du Jour (July 13-14).

Giovanna Sardelli will direct Molly Coogan, Rick Foucheux, Linda Gehringer, Ben Morrow and Matt Stadleman in Ziegler's An Incident (July 15-16). Reddin's Acquainted with the Night, directed by Mark Wing-Davey, will include Reed Birney (A Small Fire, Tigers Be Still), Cabell (Compulsion), Rob Cambell, Laura Heisler (Coram Boy), Scott Lowell, Natalie Payne, Thomas Jay Ryan and Ray Anthony Thomas (July 20-21).

Leveling Up, by Deborah Zoe Laufer, will feature Jessica Cummings, Evan Enderle, Stephen Ellis and Ben Morrow under the direction of NPC artistic director Goldberg (July 22-23).

Dan LeFranc's The Troublemaker Project, directed by Adam Greenfield, will include Goodridge (Passing Strange), Brett Aresco, Steve Boyer, Benjamin Katz, Gabe King, Christopher McFarland, Jenny Seastone Stern and Danielle Skraastad (July 27-28).

Martin Damien Wilkins will direct How We Got On, by Idris Goodwin, with Don Guillory, Brian Quijada and Karen Pittman (July 29-30).

For more information, call the O'Neill at (860) 443-5378, email or visit Schedules are subject to change.


The Eugene O'Neill Theater Center, founded in 1964 in honor of Eugene O'Neill, four-time Pulitzer Prize winner and the only American playwright to win the Nobel Prize in Literature, is the recipient of two Tony Awards, in 2010 for Regional Theatre, and in 1979 for Theatrical Excellence.

The O'Neill has been home to more than 1,000 new works for the stage and 2,500 emerging artists. Scores of projects developed at the O'Neill have gone on to full production at other theaters around the world, including Broadway, Off-Broadway and major regional theatres.

O'Neill programs include the National Playwrights Conference, National Music Theater Conference, National Critics Institute, National Puppetry Conference, the Cabaret & Performance Conference, and National Theater Institute, which conducts semester-long intensive theatre-training programs, and Theatermakers, a six-week summer program.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!