Netrebko, Abbado, and Boulez Win Germany's Echo Klassik Awards

Classic Arts News   Netrebko, Abbado, and Boulez Win Germany's Echo Klassik Awards
Soprano Anna Netrebko, conductor Claudio Abbado, and composer Pierre Boulez are among the winners of the 2005 Echo Klassik awards.

The awards, Germany's leading prizes for classical recordings, will be presented by Hamburg's Deutsche Phono-Akademie at a ceremony on October 16.

Netrebko was named female singer of the year for her album Sempre Libera; the album will also be honored as the year's bestsseller. Abbado was named conductor of the year for a recording of Debussy's La Mer and Mahler's Second Symphony with the Lucerne Festival Orchestra.

Boulez, who turned 80 this year, will be presented with a lifetime achievement award.

Other winners include tenor Rolando Villazon, flutist Emmanuel Pahud, guitarist Frank Bungarten, pianist H_lne Grimaud, organist Iveta Apkaina, and violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter, who will be honored for a disc of violin concertos by Tchaikovsky and Korngold.

The ensemble of the year awards go to the early music group Nova Stravaganza, the Twelve Cellists of the Berlin Philharmonic, and the vocal ensemble Singer Pur.

Conductor and pianist Daniel Barenboim will receive a special award recognizing him as an "ambassador of music."

Recommended Reading: