Neuwirth, Bart, Luker and Burstein Honored Oct. 15 with Broadway Beacon Awards

News   Neuwirth, Bart, Luker and Burstein Honored Oct. 15 with Broadway Beacon Awards
Karen Ziemba, A.R. Gurney, Shannon O'Bryan and Robert Jess Roth will present Broadway Beacon Awards to Bebe Neuwirth, Roger Bart, Rebecca Luker and Danny Burstein at the Inside Broadway 25th anniversary benefit Oct. 15.

The concert and awards event will take place at 7:30 PM at New York City's McGraw Hill Auditorium. Pia Lindstrom hosts the evening with a performance by the cast of Three Mo' Tenors.

The honors — presented by the acclaimed children's theatre organization — are given to "individuals in the theatre industry who have been advocates for increasing the audience for live theatre in New York City, particularly in helping to develop new young audiences for Broadway," according to an announcement.

This year's honorees join previous Broadway Beacon winners Carol Channing, Joel Grey, Tovah Feldshuh, Karen Ziemba, Sutton Foster and Karen Mason.

Special Beacon Awards will also be presented to the founder and executive director of the organization, Michael Presser, "for 25 Years of Distinguished Service," and to board member William Tung — who has served for seven years.

The not-for-profit educational organization brings Broadway to young audiences through a student ticket program, Broadway show study guides, educational videos about the behind-the-scenes operations at a Broadway theatre and 50-minute versions of classic Broadway musicals. The evening will begin with a 6 PM cocktail reception, followed by a performance as well as the presentation of the awards.

Tickets ($350) to the evening at the McGraw-Hill Auditorium, Avenue of the Americas and 49th Street, are available by calling (212) 245-0710 or by visiting

Today’s Most Popular News: