New "American Idol" Crowned

News   New "American Idol" Crowned
A new "American Idol" — following in the footsteps of Kelly Clarkson, Ruben Studdard, Fantasia Barrino, Carrie Underwood, Taylor Hicks, Jordin Sparks, David Cook and Kris Allen — has been named.

Lee Dewyze and Crystal Bowersox.
Lee Dewyze and Crystal Bowersox.

Lee Dewyze won the title of "American Idol" May 26 following a public vote. The announcement was made during the live broadcast of the country's biggest singing competition. The evening also marked the farewell of judge Simon Cowell, who will not return next season.

Dewyze and Crystal Bowersox competed for the title May 25.

Among the many "American Idol" finalists and/or winners who have appeared on Broadway are Fantasia (The Color Purple), Diana DeGarmo and Ace Young (both back on Broadway in Hair), Tamyra Gray, Constantine Maroulis (on Broadway in Rock of Ages), Frenchie Davis, Clay Aiken and Taylor Hicks (currently in the national tour of Grease).

For more information about "American Idol," visit

Today’s Most Popular News: