New York Stage and Film Will Honor Tony-Winning Hedwig Director and Press Agent Rick Miramontez | Playbill

News New York Stage and Film Will Honor Tony-Winning Hedwig Director and Press Agent Rick Miramontez New York Stage and Film has announced their annual winter gala will honor Tony Award winner Michael Mayer and veteran theatrical press agent Rick Miramontez Nov. 16 at The Plaza Hotel (770 Fifth Avenue).

New York Stage and Film also announced their co-chairs for this year’s gala are Grammy Award winner Billie Joe Armstrong, Emmy Award winner Edie Falco, Tony Award winner Harvey Fierstein, Tony and Emmy Award winner Neil Patrick Harris, Emmy, Grammy, and Tony Award winner Cyndi Lauper and Thomas Schumacher, president of Disney Theatrical Group.

Other gala committee members will include Kristin Chenoweth, Julianna Margulies, Kevin Bacon & Kyra Sedgwick, Laura Linney, Jennifer Westfeldt & Jon Hamm, Lea Michele, Josh Radnor, Amy Ryan, Anjelica Huston, Jonathan Groff, John Gallagher Jr., Isabel & Ruben Toledo, David Rockwell and Camryn Manheim among others.

Mayer is the director of Hedwig and The Angry Inch, currently playing on Broadway with Andrew Rannells in the title role and Tony winner Lena Hall as Yitzhak. A multiple award-winner, Mayer received the Tony in 2007 for his production of Spring Awakening. His other Broadway credits include On A Clear Day You Can See Forever, Everyday Rapture, American Idiot and several others.

Rick Miramontez is the president of O&M Co., one of the leading theatrical press offices in New York City with clients on and off Broadway. Miramontez is responsible for campaigns for a number of recent Tony winning productions including Kinky Boots, A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder, Beautiful: The Carole King Musical, Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike, Clybourne Park, Hair and The Normal Heart, amongst others. He is currently represented on Broadway with the star-studded It's Only A Play.

Past honorees have included Stanley Tucci, Laura Linney, Christopher Plummer, Julianna Margulies, Steve Martin, John Patrick Shanley, Jon Robin Baitz, Aaron Sorkin, David Strathairn, Dana Delany, Tony Shalhoub, Marc Platt and Peter Gallagher. All proceeds from the evening will benefit New York Stage and Film’s support of artists from around the country in the development and production of original work for theater and film.

For more information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!