New York Theatre Workshop Announces Artists for the 2050 Fellowship

News   New York Theatre Workshop Announces Artists for the 2050 Fellowship
Downtown Off-Broadway house New York Theatre Workshop has announced the playwrights and directors selected for the 2015/16 season 2050 fellowship, named in celebration of the U.S. Census Bureau’s projection that by the year 2050, there will be no single racial or ethnic majority in the U.S.

The playwrights are Nathan Alan Davis, Hansol Jung and Patricia Ione Lloyd and the directors are Noelle Ghoussaini, Alexandru Mihail and Danya Taymor. Fellows are awarded a modest stipend and an artistic development fund to support Fellowship projects, see work, research and travel.

The program involves monthly meetings to discuss craft, aesthetics and artistic development, as well as access to rehearsal space and two opportunities to share works-in-progress with the NYTW staff. Fellows receive mentorship from the NYTW staff and contemporary theatre artists and an invitation to participate in the running of the theatre by attending staff meetings, developmental readings, dress rehearsals and functions, including a 3-day weekend.

"The 2050 Fellows are emerging artists who, with their unique voices, give us perspective on the world in which we live; and who challenge us all to contend with this changing world," state NYTW press notes.

"With the 2050 Fellowship, NYTW is re-affirming its responsibility to nurture artists who reflect this multiplicity of perspectives, challenge the dominant paradigm and give voice to those whose experiences are not often heard."

Past fellows include Branden Jacobs-Jenkins (An Octoroon), Drama League fellow Elena Araoz and Matthew Lopez, whose The Legend of Georgia McBride will soon begin previews Off-Broadway at the MCC. Highlights of the NYTW's 2015-16 season include the world premiere of Lazarus, by David Bowie and Enda Walsh. For more information on upcoming shows visit NYTW.

Today’s Most Popular News: