Nominations Announced for 6th Annual Off Broadway Alliance Awards | Playbill

Related Articles
News Nominations Announced for 6th Annual Off Broadway Alliance Awards Winners will be revealed May 18.
Steven Pasquale and the cast of The Robber Bridegroom. Joan Marcus
The Off Broadway Alliance, the organization of Off-Broadway producers, theatres, general managers, press agents and marketing professionals, has announced the nominees for the 6th Annual Off Broadway Alliance Awards, which honor commercial and not-for-profit productions that opened Off-Broadway during the 2015-16 season.

Awards are presented in seven competitive categories: Best New Musical, Best New Play, Best Musical Revival, Best Play Revival, Best Unique Theatrical Experience, Best Solo Performance and Best Family Show.

Four Off Broadway Alliance Legend of Off Broadway Awards will also be presented for sustained achievement in the world of Off-Broadway. The 2016 Legend of Off Broadway recipients are Merle Debuskey, Linda Lavin, Robert Moss and Lois Smith. Awards will also be presented posthumously to Anne Jackson and Eli Wallach, Anne Meara and Elizabeth Swados.

Winners will be announced May 18.

A complete list of nominees follows.

Best New Musical
Daddy Long Legs
Dear Evan Hansen
Who’s Your Baghdaddy?

Best New Play
Exit Strategy
O, Earth
The Qualms

Best Musical Revival
Once Upon a Mattress
The Robber Bridegroom
Rothschild & Sons

Best Play Revival
Incident at Vichy
The School for Scandal
Two Gentlemen of Verona
Widowers’ Houses
Women Without Men

Best Unique Theatrical Experience
Angel Reapers
Sense & Sensibility
Shear Madness
Standard Time

Best Solo Performance
Mike Birbiglia, Thank God for Jokes
Staceyann Chin, Motherstruck
James Lecesne, The Absolute Brightness of Leonard Pelkey
Joanna Rush, Kick
Andrew Schneider, Youarenowhere

Best Family Show
The Commedia Rapunzel
The Pirate La Dee Da
The Velveteen Rabbit
The Very Hungry Caterpillar Show
Young Charles Dickens

Legend of Off Broadway Honorees
Merle Debuskey
Linda Lavin
Robert Moss
Lois Smith

Hall of Fame Awards
Anne Jackson and Eli Wallach
Anne Meara
Elizabeth Swados

For more information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!