Nominees Announced for 11th Annual Jimmy Awards, Celebrating Excellence in High School Musical Theatre

Broadway News   Nominees Announced for 11th Annual Jimmy Awards, Celebrating Excellence in High School Musical Theatre
The National High School Musical Theatre Awards will be hosted by Ben Platt June 24.

A record 86 students will be celebrated at the 11th Annual Jimmy Awards, honoring the best performances in an American high school production this past year.

The nominees make their debut on a Broadway stage after intensive professional training at NYU Tisch School of the Arts' New Studio on Broadway.

The June 24 ceremony, hosted by Dear Evan Hansen star Ben Platt, will be streamed live from the Minskoff Theatre on The Jimmy Awards Facebook account. After the performances, winners will be selected by a panel of industry experts.

In addition to the nominated performers, the previously announced Inspiring Teacher Award will be given to Matthew Hinson from Northwest School of the Arts in Charlotte, North Carolina and Tasha Partee from Lawrence Woodmere Academy in Woodmere, New York. Their students won the 2018 Jimmy Award for Best Performance by an Actress and Best Performance by an Actor, respectively.

A full list of nominees follows below.

Colin Miller and Nora Cullinan (The Enchantment Awards, Albuquerque, NM)
Matthew Wautier-Rodriguez and Kyra Hietpas (Center Stage High School Musical Theater Awards, Appleton, WI)
Harrison McCall Lewis and Jessi Kirtley (The Shuler Hensley Awards, Atlanta, GA)
Eran Zelixon and Amanda Fawell (MET Musical Awards, Boston, MA)
Matthew Wilson and Penelope Sergi (The Kenny Awards, Buffalo, NY)
Sayo Oni and Arella Flur (The Blumey Awards, Charlotte, NC)
Jacob Simon and Marguerite Reed (Illinois High School Musical Theatre Awards, Chicago, IL)
J.R. Heckman and Margo Tipping (Playhouse Square Dazzle Awards, Cleveland, OH)
Caleb Jingo and Maeve Gallagher (CAPA Marquee Awards, Columbus, OH)
Coby Rogers and Haley Dortch (Dallas Summer Musicals High School Musical Theatre Awards, Dallas, TX)
Kyler Hershman and Abby Linderman (The Bobby G Awards, Denver, CO)
Cole Strelecki and Peyton Reese (Iowa High School Musical Theater Awards, Des Moines, IA)
Benjamin Eble and Haven Bowers (Triangle Rising Stars, Durham, NC)
Eric Liu and Sarah Nelson (Sutton Foster Ovation Awards, East Lansing, MI)
Adam Kral and Mireya Velasquez (Tommy Tune Awards, Houston, TX)
Samuel Aubuchon and Janie Carr (Blue Star Awards, Kansas City, MO)
Michael Iskander and Elyse Bell (Spirit of the MACY Awards, La Mirada, CA)
Joey Cooper and Sophia Wilson (Nevada High School Musical Theater Awards, Las Vegas, NV)
Ethan Kelso and Abigail Edwards (Utah High School Musical Theatre Awards, Logan, UT)
Coen Sosa and Janina Colucci (The Jerry Herman Awards, Los Angeles, CA)
Christian Spaay and Lauren Harkness (The Jerry Awards, Madison, WI)
Rodney McKinner III and Caroline Morath (The Orpheum High School Musical Theatre Awards, Memphis, TN)
Brecken Newton Farrell and Mia Manuppelli (Henry Mancini Awards, Midland, PA)
Lauren Senden and William Dusek (Spotlight Education, Minneapolis, MN)
Trenton McCrary and Lilla Galgoczy-Toler (Nashville High School Musical Theatre Awards, Nashville, TN)
Connor Riordan and Myranda Silva (The Stephen Sondheim Awards, New Haven, CT)
Jeremy Fuentes and Ekele Ukegbu (The Roger Rees Awards for Excellence in Student Performance, New York, NY)
Drew Sinnard and Piper Monson (Nebraska High School Theater Academy, Omaha, NE)
Thomas Dyer and Hannah Restuccia (Applause Awards, Orlando, FL)
Nathan Bravo and Marisa Moenho (The Lucie Arnaz Awards, Palm Springs, CA)
Tyler Hepler and Morgan Traud (Gene Kelly Awards, Pittsburgh, PA)
Jack D’Angelo and Mia Hall (Stars of Tomorrow, Rochester, NY)
Jackson Hager and Katie Bulen (Las Casas Foundation’s Joci Awards, San Antonio, TX)
Rocco Polanco and Mary Rose Vadeboncoeur (The Broadway San Diego Awards, San Diego, CA)
Luciano Castaldo and Lauryn Thomas (The Rita Moreno Awards, San Jose, CA)
Michael Johnson and Signe Naranjo (High School Musical Theatre Awards at Proctors, Schenectady, NY)
Brady Magruder and Lexie Love (The 5th Avenue Theatre Awards, Seattle, WA)
Michael Harp and Anna Gassett (St. Louis High School Musical Theatre Awards, St. Louis, MO)
Chris Loving and Senna Prasatthong-osoth (Broadway Star of the Future, Tampa, FL)
Casey Likes and Sophia Donnell (ASU Gammage High School Musical Theatre Awards, Tempe, AZ)
Austin Killian and Chloe Elmer (The Monte Awards: Southern Arizona’s Musical Theatre Finals, Tucson, AZ)
J.J. Willis and Axyl Langford (Discovery Awards, Tulsa, OK)
Clayton Hider and Olivia Henley (Kravis Center Dream Awards: Celebrating High School Musical Theater Excellence, West Palm Beach, FL)

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: