Norm Lewis, Christopher Sieber, Betsy Wolfe, and More Will Celebrate Harvey Schmidt and Tom Jones

Awards   Norm Lewis, Christopher Sieber, Betsy Wolfe, and More Will Celebrate Harvey Schmidt and Tom Jones
Schmidt and Jones will be honored with the 2017 Oscar Hammerstein Award in an evening directed by Richard Jay-Alexander.
Norm Lewis Joseph Marzullo/WENN

A host of theatre favorites will be on hand when The York Theatre Company, which is dedicated to the development of new musicals and the preservation of musical gems from the past, honors musical theatre writing team Harvey Schmidt and Tom Jones (The Fantasticks; I Do, I Do!; 110 in the Shade; Celebration) with the 2017 Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement in Musical Theatre.

Tom Jones and Harvey Schmidt
Tom Jones and Harvey Schmidt

The team, as previously reported, will be honored at the 26th Oscar Hammerstein Award Gala, which will be held December 4 at The Asia Society (725 Park Avenue). Richard Jay-Alexander (Les Misérables) will direct the concert and award ceremony, which begins at 8 PM; a VIP reception begins at 6 PM. The music director is Andrew Gerle.

Those artists set to perform include Bryan Batt (La Cage aux Folles), Gretchen Cryer and Nancy Ford (I’m Getting My Act Together and Taking It on the Road), Robert Cuccioli (York’s Rothschild and Sons), John Davidson (State Fair), Rita Gardner (The Fantasticks), Adam Kantor (Fiddler on the Roof), Judy Kaye (York’s Souvenir), Norm Lewis (Porgy and Bess), Michele McConnell (The Phantom of the Opera), Tracy Lynn Olivera (Ragtime), Frances Ruffelle (Les Misérables), Christopher Sieber (Matilda), Lesley Ann Warren (110 In the Shade), Susan Watson (Bye Bye Birdie), Betsy Wolfe (Waitress), and Freddie Gershon.

The Oscar Hammerstein Award, created in 1988 by Janet Hayes Walker, founding artistic director of The York Theatre Company, recognizes significant lifetime achievement in musical theatre. Past recipients include Stephen Sondheim, Betty Comden & Adolph Green, Harold Prince, Cy Coleman, Charles Strouse, Arthur Laurents, Jerry Herman, Stephen Schwartz, Peter Stone, David Merrick, John Kander & Fred Ebb, Terrence McNally, Cameron Mackintosh, Carol Channing, Tony Walton, Joseph Stein, George S. Irving, Jerry Bock & Sheldon Harnick, Thomas Meehan, Barbara Cook, Paul Gemignani, Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty, Angela Lansbury, and Joel Grey.

“Honoring Tom Jones and Harvey Schmidt with this year’s Oscar Hammerstein Award just feels incredibly right,” said James Morgan, The York Theatre’s producing artistic director, in an earlier statement. “They are longtime friends of the York’s and our numerous artistic collaborations go back more than 35 years. We produced the premieres of Colette Collage, Roadside and the long-run The Show Goes On, in which they starred—and all of which were recorded. Revivals include full productions of 110 in the Shade and Philemon, as well as Muftis of Celebration, Mirette, Colette Collage, Roadside and The Show Goes On. They are truly woven into the fabric of the American Musical Theater, and The York Theatre, as well.”

For additional information, pricing and reservations, contact Director of Development Ellen Weiss at (212) 935-5824, ext. 214 or


(Updated October 27, 2017)

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Recommended Reading: