NYMF's Women of Note Celebrates Game-Changing Female Songwriters | Playbill

News NYMF's Women of Note Celebrates Game-Changing Female Songwriters On July 20, the New York City's Alice Griffin Theatre hosted the 2015 New York Musical Theatre Festival's Women of Note concert. This one-night-only event celebrated women songwriters who are "changing the landscape of musical theatre." Songs by Deborah Abramson, Lynn Ahrens, Barbara Anselmi, Maggie-Kate Coleman, Stephanie DiMaggio, Carmel Dean, Amanda Green, Zina Goldrich, Marcy Heisler, Anna K. Jacobs, Kait Kerrigan, Lisa Kron, Grace McLean, Zoe Sarnak, Georgia Stitt, Shaina Taub and Jeanine Tesori were featured.

Tesori and Lisa Kron recently made history as the first all-female team to win the Tony Award Best Score and Book for Fun Home.

Performers were Jaron Barney, Derrick Baskin, Stephanie J. Block, Liz Lark Brown, Bryan Terrell Clark, Jessica Crouch, Jennifer Damiano, Kate Ferber, Kerri George, Samantha Gershman, Kerrigan & Lowdermilk, Jay Armstrong Johnson, Melody Madarasz, Kelly McCormick, Grace McClean, Mary Jo Mecca, Melissa Mitchell, Julia Murney, Taylor Noble, Ryann Redmond, Zach Reiner-Harris, Shaina Taub, Josh Tolle, Gabe Violett, Nadia Vynnytsky, Sally Wilfert and Remy Zakan. Musicians for the evening were Charity Wicks on piano, Miles Aubrey on guitar, Mary Ann McSweeney on bass, Mary Jo Stilpe on violin, Christine Kim on cello and Joe Nero on drums.

This year's New York Musical Theatre Festival presents over 20 new musicals and over a dozen concerts. Programming runs through July 27.

Follow Playbill.com on social media with the hashtag #womenintheatre for more coverage of women in the industry.


Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!