Off-Broadway's Lucille Lortel Award Nominations Announced Today!

News   Off-Broadway's Lucille Lortel Award Nominations Announced Today!
Nominations for the 30th Annual Lucille Lortel Awards, recognizing the best in Off-Broadway theatre, are announced April 2. The honors will be presented in May at the Skirball Center.

Anna Chlumsky
Anna Chlumsky

Jesse Tyler Ferguson ("Modern Family," Comedy of Errors) and Anna Chlumsky ("Veep," Living on Love) will host the Lortel Awards, which will take place May 10 at the Skirball Center.

Representatives of the Off-Broadway League, Actors' Equity Association, Stage Directors & Choreographers Society, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, in addition to theatre journalists, academics and other Off-Broadway professionals, serve on the Voting Committee to determine the winners.

This year the Lortel Awards special honorees include playwright McNally (The Visit, It's Only a Play) who will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award; composer Tesori (Fun Home; Caroline, or Change), who will be inducted onto the famed Playwrights' Sidewalk in front of the Lucille Lortel Theatre; and veteran general manager Nagel Gibbs (Peter and the Starcatcher, Next to Normal, Wicked), who will receive the Edith Oliver Service to Off-Broadway Award.

Awards may be given in the following categories: Play, Musical, Solo Show, Revival, Alternative Theatrical Experience, Director, Choreographer, Lead Actor and Actress in a Play and Musical, Featured Actor and Actress in a Play and Musical, Scenic, Costume, Lighting and Sound Design.

The Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway were created in 1985 by the Off-Broadway League.

For further information visit,

Today’s Most Popular News: