Oliver!, With River Alexander and Dominic Cuskern, Begins at Gallery Players April 30

News   Oliver!, With River Alexander and Dominic Cuskern, Begins at Gallery Players April 30
Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson actor River Alexander and Dominic Cuskern head the cast of Lionel Bart's classic musical Oliver! at Brooklyn's Gallery Players, beginning April 30.

Dominic Cuskern
Dominic Cuskern

Alexander steps into the role of the titular orphan boy with Cuskern (Broadway's Inherit the Wind) as Fagin. Gallery Players executive director Neal J. Freeman stages the production that will run through May 22.

Oliver! is the final production in the Gallery Player's 44th season and marks the biggest cast to ever perform at the Brooklyn institution.

The cast also features Conly Bashman, Tyler Bellmon, Stacie Bono, Debra Thais Evans, Melissa Gonzalez, Nicholas Gonzalez, Zenovia Gonzalez, Stephanie Holser, Greg Horton, Leah Jennings, Yakov Klugman, Bill Krakauer, Tony Lance, Zev Lane, Audrey Heffernan Meyer, Michael Mizwicki, Judy Molner, David Morales, Zac Mordechai, Asher Muldoon, Michael Padgett, Hayley Richelson, Caroline Rosenblum, Benjamin Schendler-Terry, Eric Stephenson and Jesse Turtz.

Kevin Lawson musical directs. Choreography is by Josie Bray. Oliver! has scenic design by Cory Rodriguez, costume design by Megan Q. Dudley, lighting design by Tracy Lynn Wertheimer, prop design by Ashley Cavadas and fight direction by Diego Villada.

Bart's 1963 musical adaptation of Charles Dickens' "Oliver Twist" earned a Tony Award for Best Composer and Lyricist. The popular musical includes the songs "As Long As He Needs Me," "Where Is Love?," "Food, Glorious Food," "Consider Yourself" and "Who Will Buy?" For tickets call (718) 595-0547 or visit galleryplayers.com.

The Gallery Players is located in Park Slope, Brooklyn, at 199 14th Street. Those in Manhattan can reach the theatre by taking the F train to 4th Avenue or the R train to 9th Street.


The Gallery Players, a Brooklyn theatrical institution, boasts numerous Broadway folk among its alumni, including Harvey Fierstein (A Catered Affair, Hairspray, Torch Song Trilogy), Jennifer Barnhart (Avenue Q), Manoel Felciano (Sweeney Todd), Diedre Goodwin (A Chorus Line, Chicago), Seth Rudetsky (Seth’s Broadway Chatterbox), Garrett Long (The Spitfire Grill) and John Rando (director of Broadway's Urinetown and The Wedding Singer).

Today’s Most Popular News: