Olivier Nominee Sarah Goldberg Will Succeed Annie Parisse In Broadway's Clybourne Park

News   Olivier Nominee Sarah Goldberg Will Succeed Annie Parisse In Broadway's Clybourne Park
Producer Jordan Roth announced June 19 that 2011 Olivier Award nominee Sarah Goldberg will join the cast of the 2012 Tony Award-winning Best Play Clybourne Park, in the roles of Betsy and Lindsey, July 17.

Sarah Goldberg in Clybourne Park.
Sarah Goldberg in Clybourne Park. Photo by Johan Persson

She will succeed Annie Parisse, who will play her final performance July 15.

Goldberg was nominated for the 2011 Olivier Award for Best Supporting Actress when she created the roles of Betsy and Lindsey in the 2011 Olivier and Evening Standard Award-winning production of Clybourne Park at the West End’s Wyndham’s Theatre.  A native of Vancouver, Canada, Goldberg studied drama in London before starring there in productions of Alexi Kaye Campbell’s Apologia at the Bush Theatre and Six Degrees of Separation at the Old Vic. Goldberg was last seen by New York audiences in the Roundabout Theatre Company production of Look Back in Anger.

Winner of the 2012 Tony Award for Best Play, the 2011 Pulitzer Prize and Olivier Award, Clybourne Park, according to press notes, is "the wickedly funny and fiercely provocative new play about race, real estate and the volatile values of each. Clybourne Park explodes in two outrageous acts set 50 years apart.  Act One takes place in 1959, as nervous community leaders anxiously try to stop the sale of a home to a black family. Act Two is set in the same house in the present day, as the now predominantly African-American neighborhood battles to hold its ground in the face of gentrification."

Bruce NorrisClybourne Park received its world premiere at Playwrights Horizons in 2010 followed by a critically acclaimed pre-Broadway engagement at Center Theatre Group/Mark Taper Forum in Los Angeles. Under the direction of Pam MacKinnon, the original cast includes Crystal A. Dickinson, Brendan Griffin, Damon Gupton, Christina Kirk, Annie Parisse, Jeremy Shamos and Frank Wood. 

Today’s Most Popular News: