One-Minute Play Festival, Featuring Works by Tina Howe, David Henry Hwang, Rajiv Joseph, Presented Oct. 16

News   One-Minute Play Festival, Featuring Works by Tina Howe, David Henry Hwang, Rajiv Joseph, Presented Oct. 16
Tina Howe, David Henry Hwang, Rajiv Joseph, Greg Kotis, Neil LaBute, Craig Lucas and Donald Margulies are among the playwrights who have contributed to Primary Stages' New York One-Minute Play Festival, which is held Oct. 16 at 59E59 Theaters.

Rajiv Joseph
Rajiv Joseph Photo by Krissie Fullerton

The fifth annual festival, presented at 2 PM and 7 PM, features works by emerging and established playwrights and is curated by Dominic D'Andrea. All proceeds go to the Primary Stages Einhorn School of Performing Arts.

Directors aligned for the event include D'Andrea, as well as May Adrales, Alex Correia, Jackson Gay, Josh Hecht, West Hyler, Jessi D. Hill, Jose Zayas, and Primary Stages artistic director Andrew Leynse.

According to Primary Stages, the event challenges playwrights to create "a highly theatrical singular moment; it is a form of theatre that looks at the most immediate storytelling event or core emotional content."

Additional contributing writers include Rachel Axler, Neena Beber, Maria Alexandra Beech, David Cale, Raul Castillo, Joshua Conkel, Jorge Ignacio Cortinas, Lydia R. Diamond, Kristoffer Diaz, Bathsehba Doran, Christine Evans, David Grimm, Jason Grote, Sam Hunter, Chisa Hutchinson, Mara Jebsen, Nick Jones, Claire LaZebnik, J.C. Lee, Lisa Loomer, Michael Mitnick, Janine Nabers, Luanne Rice, KJ Sanchez, Tommy Smith, Lloyd Suh, Nilaja Sun, Adam Szymkowicz, Liz Duffy Adams, Brooke Berman, Bekah Brunstetter, David Caudle, Cusi Cram, Kara Lee Corthron, Adam Gwon, Michael Hollinger, Lila Rose Kaplan, Kait Kerrigan, Winter Miller, Julian Sheppard, Daniel Talbott and Ken Urban.

Playwriting students and ESPA alumni who are also represented are Joshua Allen, Micheline Auger, Marin Gazzaniga, Mariah MacCarthy, Stacy O'Neill, Melissa Ross, Vanessa Shealy and Kate Tarker. Among the actors announced to appear are Erin Adams, Rob Askins, Michele Baldwin, Vince Bandille, Seth Bazacas, Joresa Blount, Emily Bohannon, Matt Bourne, Shelly Lenita Bousso-O'Rourke, Danielle Brooks, Jim Cairl, Mike Callahan, Sam Cates, Julia Chan, Juliette Cohen, Jamie Concepcion, Sarah Cook, Ismael Cruz Cordova, Michael Dalto, Leah Dietrich, Joseph Diomede, Daniel Froote, Zoe Geltman, Katherine Gordon, Ana Grosse, Joel Haberli, Jennifer Harder, Walker Hare, Tommy Heleringer, Paul Hickert, Christian “Chopper” Jacobs, Nancy Keegan, Gavin Starr Kendall, Gabe King, Jocelyn Kuritsky, Bryn Lagoni, Anna Lamadrid, Kelsey Landon, Adam Lebowitz-Lockard, Rachael Lee, Marcy Lovitch, Jared Maguire, Sarah Matteucci, Pete Mccabe, Jo Mei, Danielle D. Morvant, Brian Miskell, Megan Cook Nelson, Molly O’Neal, Alexis L. Pereira, Jess Pohly, Rebecca Prescott, Laura Ramadei, Matt Reeves, Deema Salem, Sonja Sweeney, Erica Swindell, Caitlin McDonough Thayer, Daniella Thome, Matt Walters, Jacob Wilhemi, Ariel Woodiwiss and Monica Wyche.

Tickets, ranging $20-$50, are available by phoning (212) 279-4200 or by visiting TicketCentral.

Today’s Most Popular News: