Original Cast Members Expected at Avenue Q Special Event March 5

News   Original Cast Members Expected at Avenue Q Special Event March 5
Broadway's Avenue Q will celebrate the occasion of the musicals 1,500th performance (which occurs March 4) at a special March 5 show.

The 2004 Tony Award winner for Best Musical plays its 1,500th performance at Broadway's Golden Theatre March 4. Previews for the hit musical began July 11, 2003, with an official opening July 31.

The company will officially mark the occasion on March 5 with a "brief, onstage ceremony following the show," according to an announcement. "Members of the original cast, all subsequent cast replacements on Broadway, and members of the Las Vegas Q company are expected in the audience."

The current cast features original member Jennifer Barnhart as well as Mary Faber, Evan Harrington, Christian Anderson, Ann Sanders, Howie Michael Smith and Haneefah Wood.


* Currently in its fourth year on Broadway — following an acclaimed Off-Broadway debut at the Vineyard Theatre — the show has already played a run in Las Vegas at the Wynn Las Vegas casino resort and currently enjoys a run at London's Noel Coward Theatre. The musical will next play Old Globe's summer season at the historic Spreckels Theatre in San Diego, CA (starting June 30), before launching its first national tour.

Set on the fictitious New York street, Avenue Q sends up such popular children's television shows as "Sesame Street" and "The Electric Company," while serving up a bounty of pop-culture references and solving the mystery of the whereabouts of former "Diff'rent Strokes" child star Gary Coleman. The production bears the warning: "Full puppet nudity, not suitable for children."

The show's creators, Robert Lopez and Jeff Marx, earned a Tony for their score as did book writer Jeff Whitty, and the musical itself garnered the top Best Musical prize at the 2004 Tony Awards. Jason Moore (Steel Magnolias) directed with musical direction by Gary Adler (Altar Boyz).

Puppets were conceived and designed by original cast member Rick Lyon. Stephen Oremus handles musical supervision, and choreography is by Ken Roberson. The Avenue Q design team features Anna Louizos (scenic), Mirena Rada (costume), Howell Binkley (lighting) and Acme Sound Partners (sound).

Kevin McCollum, Robyn Goodman, Jeffrey Seller, Vineyard Theatre and The New Group produce the Broadway run.

Avenue Q can be found on the web at www.avenueq.com.

Today’s Most Popular News: