Outer Critics Circle Awards to Be Held May 23 at Sardi's

News   Outer Critics Circle Awards to Be Held May 23 at Sardi's
We know, we know, it's only December, but...

We know, we know, it's only December, but...

The first whiff of Awards season is upon us, as the Outer Critics Circle has chosen the date for its annual "do," Thursday May 23, 2002, once again at the Eugenia Room of Sardi's Restaurant in midtown Manattan. As in recent years, the ceremony and dinner will be held in pre-theatre hours, 4-7:30 PM, rather than the late-night suppers of years past. Also as in recent years, the winners will be announced nearly a month before the ceremony — April 29. Nominees are to be announced April 15, according to OCC president Marjorie Gunner.


The Producers, Proof, The Invention of Love and a trio of dead heats were among the winners of this past season's Outer Critics Circle Awards for excellence on and off Broadway were announced April 30. Nominees were announced April 16, and the OCC ceremony was held May 24, 2001 at the Eugenia Room of Sardi’s Theatrical Restaurant, 4-7:30 PM.

42nd Street and The Producers headed the 2000-01 Outer Critics Circle Awards nominations, and the latter came out a big winner, seizing eight of its ten nominations. 42nd Street won for best musical revival. In the drama category, Proof triumphed for the best play prize, though Tom Stoppard's The Invention of Love claims four awards, including two for actors Robert Sean Leonard and Richard Easton, who played the young and old versions of poet A.E. Housman, respectively. Dramatist David Auburn won the John Gassner Playwriting Award. Perhaps the most notable aspect of this year's OCC awards, however, were the number of ties. Three categories produces two winners each, including revival of a play, actress in a musical and featured actor in a musical.

The Outer Critics Circle is made up of out-of-town reporters and critics who cover the New York theatre. According to Awards spokesperson Jim Baldassare, this year's nominating panel features Marjorie Gunner, Mario Fratti, Glenn Loney, Louis A. Rachow, Patrick Hoffman, Joan T. Nourse, Irene Backalenick, Aubrey Reuben and Simon Saltzman.

A complete list of winners (in bold) follows:

Outstanding Broadway Play
Judgment at Nuremberg
Stones In His Pockets
The Invention Of Love

Outstanding Off-Broadway Play
Comic Potential
Lobby Hero
Ten Unknowns

Outstanding Revival of a Play (tie)
The Best Man
Juno And The Paycock
One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest
The Man Who Came To Dinner

Outstanding Actor in a Play
Richard Easton (The Invention Of Love )
George Grizzard (Judgment At Nuremberg)
Brian Stokes Mitchell (King Hedley II)
Donald Sutherland (Ten Unknowns)

Outstanding Actress in a Play
Eileen Atkins (The Unexpected Man)
Juliette Binoche (Betrayal)
Mary-Louise Parker (Proof)
Marian Seldes (The Play About the Baby)

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play
Larry Bryggman (Proof)
Charles Durning (The Best Man)
Justin Kirk (Ten Unknowns)
Robert Sean Leonard (The Invention Of Love)

Outstanding Featured Actress In A Play
Viola Davis (King Hedley II)
Marthe Keller (Judgment at Nuremberg)
Michael Learned (The Best Man)
Leslie Uggams (King Hedley II)

Outstanding Director of a Play
Ian Mcelhinney (Stones in His Pockets)
Jack O’Brien (The Invention of Love)
Daniel Sullivan (Proof)
John Tillinger (Judgment at Nuremberg)

Outstanding Broadway Musical
A Class Act
Jane Eyre
The Full Monty
The Producers

Outstanding Off-Broadway Musical
Bat Boy: The Musical
Pete ‘N’ Keely

Outstanding Revival of a Musical
Bells Are Ringing
42nd Street
The Rocky Horror Show

Outstanding Actor in a Musical
Matthew Broderick (The Producers)
Michael Cumpsty (42nd Street)
Nathan Lane (The Producers)
Patrick Wilson (The Full Monty)

Outstanding Actress in a Musical (tie)
Christine Ebersole (42nd Street)
Randy Graff (A Class Act)
Faith Prince (Bells Are Ringing)
Marla Schaffel (Jane Eyre)

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical (tie)
Gary Beach (The Producers)
André De Shields (The Full Monty)
David Elder (42nd Street)
John Ellison Conlee (The Full Monty)

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical
Kathleen Freeman (The Full Monty)
Cady Huffman ( The Producers )
Kate Levering ( 42nd Street )
Mary Testa ( 42nd Street )

Outstanding Director of a Musical
Christopher Ashley ( The Rocky Horror Show)
Mark Bramble (42nd Street)
Jack O’Brien (The Full Monty)
Susan Stroman (The Producers)

Outstanding Choreography
Kathleen Marshall (Follies)
Jerry Mitchell (The Full Monty)
Randy Skinner (42nd Street)
Susan Stroman (The Producers)

Outstanding Scenic Design
Bob Crowley (The Invention of Love)
Heidi Ettinger (The Adventures of Tom Sawyer)
Douglas W. Schmidt (42nd Street)
Robin Wagner (The Producers)

Outstanding Costume Design
Theoni V. Aldredge (Follies)
Roger Kirk (42nd Street)
William Ivey Long (The Producers)
Andreane Neofitou (Jane Eyre)

Outstanding Lighting Design
Paul Gallo (42nd Street)
Peter Kaczorowski (The Producers)
Brian Macdevitt (The Invention of Love)
Kenneth Posner (The Adventures of Tom Sawyer)

Outstanding Solo Performance
Brian D’Arcy James (The Good Thief)
Pamela Gien (The Syringa Tree)
Bill Irwin (Texts for Nothing)
Tovah Feldshuh (Tallulah Hallelujah!)

John Gassner Playwriting Award
David Auburn (Proof)
Pamela Gien (The Syringa Tree)
Rebecca Gilman (Boy Gets Girl)
Kenneth Lonergan (Lobby Hero)

— By David Lefkowitz
and Robert Simonson

Today’s Most Popular News: