Paul Gemignani Will Receive Oscar Hammerstein Award; York Celebration to Feature Kate Baldwin, Marin Mazzie, Brian Stokes Mitchell

News   Paul Gemignani Will Receive Oscar Hammerstein Award; York Celebration to Feature Kate Baldwin, Marin Mazzie, Brian Stokes Mitchell
The York Theatre Company will honor veteran music director and conductor Paul Gemignani with the Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement in Musical Theatre, which will be presented Nov. 19 at the 21st Annual Oscar Hammerstein Award Gala at The Edison Ballroom (240 West 47th Street).

Paul Gemignani
Paul Gemignani Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Alexander Gemignani, son of the honoree, will host the evening's entertainment, which will be directed by Lonny Price with music direction by Tedd Firth.

Currently scheduled to perform are Kate Baldwin, Mario Cantone, Jenn Colella, Marin Mazzie, Tony winner Brian Stokes Mitchell and Chip Zien with special appearances by Stephen Sondheim and Alice Hammerstein Mathias (all subject to availability).

The evening will begin with a reception at 6 PM followed by dinner at 7 PM and the awards ceremony and entertainment beginning at 8:30 PM.

Paul Gemignani has been the music director for more than 40 Broadway and West End productions, including Follies, Candide, A Little Night Music, Sweeney Todd, Into the Woods, Jerome Robbins’ Broadway and South Pacific, among many others. Gemignani has appeared as a guest conductor with symphonies around the globe, and has worked in television and film. He has also received many distinctions and nominations for his outstanding work in musical theatre, including the 2001 Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement.

The Oscard Hammerstein Award, named in honor of the prolific lyricist, recognizes "significant lifetime achievement in musical theatre." The award is presented at an annual gala which benefits The York Theatre Company, and is presented with the endorsement of the Rodgers & Hammerstein Organization and the Hammerstein Family. Past recipients include Stephen Sondheim, Betty Comden & Adolph Green, Harold Prince, Cy Coleman, Charles Strouse, Arthur Laurents, Jerry Herman, Stephen Schwartz, Peter Stone, David Merrick, John Kander & Fred Ebb, Terrence McNally, Cameron Mackintosh, Carol Channing, Tony Walton, Joseph Stein, George S. Irving, Jerry Bock & Sheldon Harnick, Thomas Meehan and Barbara Cook. Benefit Committee co-chairs are Stephanie Cooper-Clarke, Margery Jassy and Charlotte Rosenblatt.

For additional information, pricing and reservations, visit or call (212) 935-5824, ext. 215.


The York Theatre Company is the only theatre in New York City "dedicated to developing and fully producing new musicals and rediscovering neglected, notable shows from the past." James Morgan is producing artistic director.

Today’s Most Popular News: