Perfect Harmony Will Shutter Off-Broadway Nov. 13

News   Perfect Harmony Will Shutter Off-Broadway Nov. 13
The Off-Broadway return of the play with music Perfect Harmony, which dramatizes the story of two rival high school a capella groups, will close Off-Broadway Nov. 13.

Perfect Harmony originally began previews Oct. 8 at the Theaters at 45 Bleecker. When the venue suddenly shuttered, Perfect Harmony was among several productions left homeless. After five previews on Bleecker, Perfect Harmony arrived at the Acorn Theatre in midtown where it began previews Oct. 21 and officially opened Oct. 27. The production will have played a total of 11 previews and 19 regular performances.

Andrew Grosso and The Essentials, a collection of writers, co-wrote the play that first debuted at the 2006 New York International Fringe Festival with a subsequent Off-Broadway run on Theatre Row in 2008. Perfect Harmony played a limited run at the Stoneham Theatre in Massachusetts prior to its 2010 Off-Broadway return.

Co-author Grosso directs a cast that features Kelly McCreary (Passing Strange), Kate Morgan Chadwick (Grease), Faryl Amadeus, Dana Acheson (Dying City), Marie-France Arcilla (Shout!), Clayton Apgar (Next Fall), David Barlow, Jarid Faubel, Kobi Libii and Robbie Collier Sublett (Gone Missing).

The production has arrangements and musical direction by Ray Bailey and Adam Wachter, scenic design by Nick Francone, costume design by Becky Lasky and lighting design by Brian Jones.

According to producers, "Before there was 'Glee,' there was something we like to call Perfect Harmony where competition trumped everything. Where victory knew no limits. Where even the most innocent act could be seen as something treacherous, and no good deed went unpunished. This quirky, wickedly funny and mildly twisted comedy will bring you back to a time when navigating the brutal halls of high school was the most important thing in the world. Whether you were a jock, homecoming queen, prep, nerd or misfit, Perfect Harmony will give you something to sing about! The Essentials include David Barlow, Jeffrey Binder, Drew Cortese, Meg DeFoe, Autumn Dornfeld, Alec Duffy, Cameron Folmar, Santino Fontana, Jordan Gelber, Scott Janes, Nicole Lowrance, Vayu O’Donnell, Thomas Piper, Maria Elena Ramirez, Jeanine Serralles, Marina Squerciati, Margie Stokley, Noah Weisberg, Margo White, Blake Whyte and Marshall York.

For tickets phone (212) 239-6200 or visit Telecharge.

Today’s Most Popular News: