Peter Bartlett Joins Cast of Drowsy Chaperone Jan. 16

News   Peter Bartlett Joins Cast of Drowsy Chaperone Jan. 16
Peter Bartlett, whose Broadway credits include The Frogs and Never Gonna Dance, joins the Broadway company of The Drowsy Chaperone Jan. 16.

Peter Bartlett
Peter Bartlett Photo by Aubrey Reuben

Bartlett succeeds Edward Hibbert in the role of Underling. Hibbert is currently in rehearsals for the new Kander and Ebb musical Curtains.

Peter Bartlett has also been seen on Broadway in Beauty and the Beast as well as in the City Center Encores! staging of Call Me Madam. His Off-Broadway credits include Jeffrey, Mr. Charles, Currently of Palm Beach; Rude Entertainment; and The Most Fabulous Story Ever Told; he received a Drama Desk nomination for his work in the latter.

The Drowsy Chaperone won five 2006 Tonys, including Best Book and Best Score. The musical is directed and choreographed by Tony Award nominee Casey Nicholaw (Spamalot), with music and lyrics by Tony Award winners Lisa Lambert and Greg Morrison and a book by Tony Award winners Bob Martin and Don McKellar.

A cast album from Ghostlight, which was just nominated for a Grammy Award, is in stores.

"To chase his blues away, a modern day musical theatre addict known simply as Man in Chair drops the needle on his favorite cast album – the 1928 musical comedy The Drowsy Chaperone," according to the producers. "From the crackle of his hi-fi, the uproariously funny musical magically bursts to life on stage. We are instantly immersed in the hilarious tale of a glamorous bride and her uproarious wedding day, complete with thrills and surprises that take both the cast (literally) and the audience (metaphorically) soaring into the heavens. Man in Chair's infectious love of The Drowsy Chaperone speaks to anyone who has ever been transported by the theatre." The production features Tony Award nominee Danny Burstein, Georgia Engel, Tony Award winner Sutton Foster, Troy Britton Johnson, Eddie Korbich, Garth Kravits, Jason Kravits, Tony Award winner Beth Leavel, Kecia Lewis-Evans, Tony Award winner Bob Martin, Jennifer Smith, Lenny Wolpe, Andrea Chamberlain, Jay Douglas, Stacia Fernandez, Linda Griffin, Angela Pupello, Kilty Reidy, Joey Sorge and Patrick Wetzel.

For more information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: