"Phantom of the Opera" Soundtrack to Feature "Learn to Be Lonely"; Pre-Orders Now Being Accepted

News   "Phantom of the Opera" Soundtrack to Feature "Learn to Be Lonely"; Pre-Orders Now Being Accepted
The soundtrack for the eagerly awaited film of Andrew Lloyd Webber's "The Phantom of the Opera" will feature one new song written especially for the film.

Entitled "Learn to Be Lonely," the song will be sung by Minnie Driver, who stars as opera diva Carlotta, and will play over the film's credits. The two disc soundtrack is scheduled for a Dec. 6 release. Pre-orders are now being accepted by Dress Circle, the London show business shop. The recording has a list price of £15.99; visit www.dresscircle.co.uk for details.

Sony Classical will release the "Phantom" recording in the U.S. at the end of November. Two editions will be available: a single disc of highlights and the aforementioned two-disc set. Visit www.sonymusicstore.com for more details.

The complete track listing for the two-CD "Phantom of the Opera" soundtrack follows:

CD 1
"Think of Me"
"Angel of Music"
"Little Lotte"/"The Mirror (Angel of Music)"
"The Phantom of the Opera"
"The Music of the Night"
"Magical Lasso"
"I Remember"/"Stranger than You Dreamt It"
"Notes…"/"Prima Donna"
"Poor Fool, He Makes Me Laugh"
"Why Have You Brought Me Here"/"Raoul I’ve Been There"
"All I Ask of You"
"All I Ask of You" (Reprise)

"Masquerade"/"Why So Silent"
"Madame Giry’s Tale"/"The Fairground"
"Journey to the Cemetery"
"Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again"
"Wandering Child"
"The Swordfight"
"We Have All Been Blind"
"Don Juan"
"The Point of No Return/Chandelier Crash"
"Down Once More/Track Down This Murderer"
"Learn to Be Lonely" Directed by Joel Schumacher, "The Phantom of the Opera" is set to hit cinemas throughout the U.S. during the Christmas holiday. The motion picture stars Gerard Butler in the title role, Emmy Rossum as Christine and Patrick Wilson as Raoul, and includes one new song by Lloyd Webber and lyricist Charles Hart.

Based on the classic Gaston Leroux novel, The Phantom of the Opera features music by Lloyd Webber, lyrics by Charles Hart and additional lyrics by Richard Stilgoe. Harold Prince directed both the London and New York premieres. The New York production — originally starring Michael Crawford and Sarah Brightman — won seven 1988 Tony Awards including one for Best Musical. The score includes such tunes as "Think of Me," "The Music of the Night," "All I Ask of You," "Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again," "The Point of No Return" and the title tune.

Today’s Most Popular News: