PHOTO CALL: 2009 Jonathan Larson Award Ceremony

News   PHOTO CALL: 2009 Jonathan Larson Award Ceremony
The 2009 Jonathan Larson Grants, given annually to honor emerging composers, lyricists and book writers, were handed out in a March 17 ceremony.

The grants, totaling $10,000, were presented at the invitation-only event, which featured musical numbers by the 2008 and 2009 recipients. Chosen from almost 150 applications, this year's winnners are Mark Allen, Dave Malloy, the songwriting team of Thomas Mizer and Curtis Moore and Ryan Scott Oliver.

Following an initial screening process, the final selections were made by a panel comprising composer Mark Hollmann, producer Kevin McCollum, director John Rando and music director Tim Weil.

Here is a look at the afternoon ceremony held at Touch on 240 West 52nd Street:

Today’s Most Popular News: