PHOTO CALL: Albee Receives Edwin Booth Lifetime Achievement

News   PHOTO CALL: Albee Receives Edwin Booth Lifetime Achievement
Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Edward Albee, who will be represented on several stages this season, received The Players Edwin Booth Lifetime Achievement Award Sept. 30 at a black-tie event at The Players on Gramercy Park.

Marian Seldes, a past recipient, presented Albee with his award. The "Eddie," which was last bestowed upon Angela Lansbury, honors "theatre luminaries for their enduring body of work." Among those who attended the Albee celebration were Maureen Anderman, Kathleen Butler, Ben Gazzara, George Grizzard, Bill Irwin, James Karen, Elizabeth McCann, Brian Murray, Mercedes Ruehl, Joanna Steichen, Frances Sternhagen, Elaine Stritch, Richard Thomas and Elizabeth Wilson. The award is named after Edwin Booth, who founded the Players in 1888. Past recipients of the award include Helen Hayes, Jose Ferrer, Garson Kanin, Jason Robards, Jack Lemmon, Christopher Plummer, Marian Seldes and Angela Lansbury.


At left (from top): Marian Seldes and Edward Albee; Elke and Ben Gazzara; Bill Irwin; Elaine Stritch (l.) and Susan Charlotte; Carmen Dell'Orefice, David Staller; Pam MacKinnon; Mercedes Ruehl, Michael Allinson; John Martello, Elizabeth Wilson; David Pittu; Marian Seldes presents Edward Albee with the Edwin Booth Lifetime Achievement Award.

Below: Bill Pullman, Brian Murray and Dallas Roberts.

photos by Aubrey Reuben
Today’s Most Popular News: