PHOTO CALL: Andrew Garfield, Once, Tribes and More at the NY Drama Critics' Circle Awards

News   PHOTO CALL: Andrew Garfield, Once, Tribes and More at the NY Drama Critics' Circle Awards
The New York Drama Critics' Circle handed out its 2011-12 awards on May 14 at a cocktail reception at Angus McIndoe restaurant. Presenters included Andrew Garfield, John Guare and Lin-Manuel Miranda.

The previously named recipients of the 77th annual awards are Stephen Karam's Sons of the Prophet (Best Play), Nina Raine's Tribes (Best Foreign Play) and Once (Best Musical).

Special citations were given to Off-Broadway's Signature Theatre Company and (for contribution to the theatre) director Mike Nichols. Director David Cromer accepted the award on behalf of British playwright Nina Raine.


The NYDCC, whose president is Adam Feldman, met at the offices of Time Out New York magazine May 7 to select the 2012 winners. The New York Drama Critics' Circle comprises 26 drama critics from daily newspapers, magazines, wire services and websites based in the New York metropolitan area. The New York Drama Critics' Circle Award, which has been awarded every year since 1936 to the best new play of the season (with optional awards for foreign or American plays, musicals and performers), is the nation's second-oldest theatre award, after the Pulitzer Prize for Drama.

The award for Best Play carries a cash prize of $2,500. Also, a cash award of $1,000 goes to the winner for best American or foreign play. The prizes are made possible by a grant from the Lucille Lortel Foundation.

Feldman, theatre critic for Time Out New York, has served as president of the NYDCC since 2005. Elisabeth Vincentelli of the New York Post serves as vice president; Joe Dziemianowicz of the Daily News is treasurer. Eric Grode is recording secretary.

In addition to Feldman, Vincentelli, Dziemianowicz and Grode, the members of the New York Drama Critics' Circle are Hilton Als, The New Yorker; Melissa Rose Bernardo, Entertainment Weekly; Scott Brown, New York; David Cote, Time Out New York; Michael Feingold, Village Voice; Robert Feldberg, Bergen Record; David Finkle, TheaterMania; Elysa Gardner, USA Today; Jeremy Gerard, Bloomberg News; Erik Haagensen, Back Stage; Mark Kennedy, Associated Press; Jesse Oxfeld, New York Observer; David Rooney, Hollywood Reporter; Frank Scheck, New York Post; David Sheward, Back Stage; John Simon,Westchester Guardian; Alexis Soloski, Village Voice; Marilyn Stasio, Variety; Steven Suskin, Variety; Terry Teachout, Wall Street Journal; Linda Winer, Newsday; and Richard Zoglin, Time. Michael Sommers serves as an emeritus member.

For more information on the New York Drama Critics' Circle and details of this year's voting, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: