PHOTO CALL: Brian d'Arcy James, Kate Baldwin and Giant Cast Celebrate Album With Barnes and Noble Performance

News   PHOTO CALL: Brian d'Arcy James, Kate Baldwin and Giant Cast Celebrate Album With Barnes and Noble Performance
The cast album of the Michael John LaChiusa-Sybille Pearson musical Giant, based on Edna Ferber's Texas-set novel, was released in a two-disc set May 21 by Ghostlight Records. The cast celebrated with an August 1 Barnes and Noble performance and signing.

Staged by Tony Award nominee Michael Greif (Next to Normal, Rent, The Intelligent Homosexual's Guide...), Giant has music and lyrics by LaChiusa (Queen of the Mist, Hello Again, Marie Christine, The Wild Party) and a book by Pearson (Baby). It played an extended Off-Broadway run last fall at the Public Theater.

The musical, which features a 17-member orchestra, is based on Edna Ferber's novel but is best known for its iconic 1956 film version that starred Elizabeth Taylor, Rock Hudson and James Dean.

The album is produced by LaChiusa, Joel Moss and Kurt Deutsch. Chris Fenwick is musical director. Orchestrations are by Bruce Coughlin with additional orchestrations by Larry Hochman.

Giant's leading trio featured Kate Baldwin, a Tony Award nominee for Finian's Rainbow, as Leslie, Tony Award nominee d'Arcy James (Titanic, Shrek, Sweet Smell of Success, "Smash") as wealthy Texas cattle man Bick and P.J. Griffith (American Idiot) as young oil tycoon Jett. The cast was completed by Tony Award winner Michele Pawk as Luz; Mackenzie Mauzy as Lil Luz; Tony nominee Bobby Steggert as Jordy Jr.; Jon Fletcher as Bobby Jr./Bobby Sr; Enrique Acevedo as ensemble; Raul Aranas as Polo; Mary Bacon as Adarene and Mrs. Lyntonn; Miguel Cervantes as Angel, Jr. and Angel, Sr.; Natalie Cortez as Juana; Rocio Del Mar Valles as Analita; Tony nominee John Dossett as Bawley; Michael Halling as Lord Kafrey; Doreen Montalvo as Lupe; Allison Rogers as Heidi; Isabel Santiago as ensemble; Martin Sola as Dimodeo; Matthew Stocke as Mike; Katie Thompson as Vashti; and William Youmans as Pinkie.

The track listing follows:

Act One:

1. "Aurelia Dolores" (Polo, Lupe, and Company)
2. "Did Spring Come to Texas?" (Bick)
3. "Your Texas" (Leslie, Bick)
4. "No Time for Surprises" (Luz)
5. "Private Property" (Jett)
6. "Outside Your Window" (Jett, Leslie)
7. "He Wanted a Girl" (Vashti, Bick)
8. "Heartbreak Country" (Bick, Leslie)
9. "Ruega por Nosotros" (Lupe, Servants)
10. "Look Back/Look Ahead" (Bawley, Bick, Leslie, and Company)
11. "Topsy Turvy" (Leslie, Bick)
12. "When to Bluff" (Jett, Lil Luz)
13. "One Day" (Jett, Men)
14. "My Texas" (Bick, Vashti, Pinkie, Adarene, Mike, Leslie and Company)
15. "A Stranger" (Leslie)
16. "Act One Finale" (Bick, Jett, Bawley, and Company)

Act Two:
17. "Our Mornings/That Thing" (Bick, Luz)
18. "Jump" (Angel, Lil Luz, Bobby Jr.)
19. "There is a Child" (Juana, Jordy)
20. "Un Béso, Béso!" (Polo, Lupe, Angel, Analita, Luz, and Company)
21. "Place in the World" (Bawley, Bick)
22. "Midnight Blues" (Vashti, Leslie)
23. "The Dog is Gonna Bark" (Jett)
24. "Juana's Prayer" (Juana)
25. "The Desert" (Bick, Lesie)
26. "Aurelia Dolores Reprise"/"Act Two Finale" (Jordy, Juana, and Company)

Today’s Most Popular News: