Photo Call: Inside the Drama Desk Awards-From Red Carpet to the Winners! | Playbill

News Photo Call: Inside the Drama Desk Awards-From Red Carpet to the Winners!
The 60th Annual Drama Desk Awards, hosted by Tony winner Laura Benanti, were presented May 31 at The Town Hall in New York City. Lin-Manuel Miranda's Broadway-bound musical Hamilton, which premiered Off-Broadway at the Public Theater, won seven awards — the most of any production of the season – including Outstanding Musical.

Inside the Drama Desk Awards-From Red Carpet to the Winners!

Other productions with multiple wins included The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, which took home six awards, including Oustanding Play; and the new Gershwin musical An American In Paris, which earned four awards.

Presenting or performing at this year's awards were Annaleigh Ashford, Robert Askins, Kate Baldwin, Christian Borle, John Cariani, Carolee Carmello, Kathleen Chalfant, Michael Esper, Jenny Gersten, Joel Grey, A.R Gurney, Lisa Howard, Chuk Iwuji, Colin Kelly-Sordelet, Judy Kuhn, Jake Lucas, Sydney Lucas, Luba Mason, Rob McClure, Jessie Mueller, Andrew Rannells, Conor Ryan, Michael Starobin, Susan Stroman, Charles Wright and Maury Yeston.

The evening also featured performances from shows with Drama Desk nominations, including It Shoulda Been You, John & Jen, The Last Ship and Pretty Filthy.

The Drama Desk Awards make no distinction between Broadway and Off-Broadway and nominate artists from both in the same categories. Nevertheless, Hamilton is the first Off-Broadway show to win the Outstanding Musical category while still playing Off-Broadway since Little Shop of Horrors in 1983. Several Off-Broadway musicals have won after they transferred to Broadway.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!