PHOTO CALL: The 2009 Fred Ebb Award Presentation

News   PHOTO CALL: The 2009 Fred Ebb Award Presentation
Songwriters Marcy Heisler and Zina Goldrich were presented with the 2009 Fred Ebb Award at the American Airlines Theater Nov. 30.

The Fred Ebb Foundation, in association with the Roundabout Theatre Company, administers the honor which recognizes excellence in musical theatre songwriting by a lyricist, composer or songwriting team that has not yet achieved significant commercial success.

As part of the invitation-only evening in the penthouse lobby of the American Airlines Theater, Signature Theatre artistic director Eric Schaeffer presented Heisler and Goldrich with the award that includes a $50,000 prize.

Heisler and Goldrich have collaborated on the children's musicals Dear Edwina and Junie B. Jones. Known for their cabaret songs, including "Taylor the Latte Boy," the duo will celebrate the release of "Marcy and Zina: The Album" this month.

Here is a look at the evening:

Late lyricist Fred Ebb was a recipient of the Tony, Grammy, Emmy, Olivier and Kennedy Center Honors Lifetime Achievement Awards. With his longtime collaborator John Kander, he first penned the song "My Coloring Book" in 1962. The team would go on to create their first musical with Hal Prince, Flora, The Red Menace, starring a young Liza Minnelli. Their works also include Cabaret, The Happy Time, Zorba, Chicago, The Act, The Rink, Kiss of the Spider Woman, The Visit and Curtains.

Today’s Most Popular News: