PHOTO CALL: The 56th Annual Obie Awards

News   PHOTO CALL: The 56th Annual Obie Awards
The 56th Annual Village Voice Obie Awards, considered by many to be Off-Broadway's highest honor, were presented May 16 at Webster Hall in the East Village.

Informally structured, with no strict categories, The Village Voice Obie Awards honor excellence in every aspect of Off-Broadway theatre. The Obie Awards publish no nominations, and judges may give multiple Obies in any category, or even invent new categories, to reward exceptional artistic merit.

The Obie Awards judges committee was again chaired by the Village Voice's chief theatre critic, Michael Feingold. Voice critic Alexis Soloski joined Feingold on the committee, as did four guest judges: The New Yorker critic Hilton Als, three-time Obie Award-winning playwright David Henry Hwang, Obie Award-winning director Evan Yionoulis, and Theatermania critic and frequent Voice contributor Andy Propst, who again served as the committee's secretary.

Click here for a full list of winners.

Here is a look at the star-studded evening:

The awards, founded in 1955 by Voice cultural editor Jerry Tallmer, honor the Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway season. Past recipients include Dustin Hoffman, Meryl Streep, William Hurt, Morgan Freeman, Mos Def, Amy Irving, Kevin Kline, Nathan Lane, Olympia Dukakis, Robert Duvall, Denzel Washington, Kevin Bacon, Alec Baldwin, Kathy Bates, James Earl Jones, Joan Cusack and Harvey Fierstein.

For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News: