PHOTO EXCLUSIVE: "Leavin' Home!" Back on the Road with Green Day's American Idiot

News   PHOTO EXCLUSIVE: "Leavin' Home!" Back on the Road with Green Day's American Idiot
The national tour of Green Day’s American Idiot sprang back into action this month in Portland, OR, with a brand-new set of Idiots and some familiar favorites from the tour’s previous season. Swing extraordinaire and talented photog Eric Presnall takes readers on a glimpse through the group’s first “two-dow shay."



Jared Nepute stars as Johnny along with Daniel C. Jackson as St. Jimmy, Casey O’Farrell as Will, Dan Tracy as Tunny, Olivia Puckett as Whatsername, Taylor Jones as The Extraordinary Girl and Mariah MacFarlane as Heather. The company also features ensemble members Alex Boniello, Liam Fennecken, Sean Garner, Francesca Granell, Antwaun Holley, Andrew Humann, Alison Morooney, Johnny Newcomb, Michael Pilato, Eric Presnall, Turner Rouse Jr., Josephine Spada, and Chelsea Turbin.

American Idiot, which won the Grammy as Best Musical Show Album, features the music of Green Day with lyrics by lead singer Billie Joe Armstrong. The show won 2010 Tony Awards for its scenic and lighting design by Christine Jones and Kevin Adams, respectively. Mayer is the Tony Award-winning director of Spring Awakening who also works in film ("Flicka," "A Home at the End of the World") and TV ("Smash," "Do No Harm"). American Idiot is choreographed by Olivier Award winner Steven Hoggett (Black Watch, Once) with orchestrations and arrangements by Pulitzer Prize winner Tom Kitt (Next to Normal).

The acclaimed creative team also includes costume design by Andrea Lauer, sound design by Acme Sounds Partners, video and projections design by Darrel Maloney, music supervision by Jared Stein, associate choreography by Lorin Latarro and associate direction by Johanna McKeon.

The rock musical tells the story of three boyhood friends, each searching for meaning in a post-9/11 world. The score includes all music from Green Day's 2004 album "American Idiot," plus additional numbers from Green Day's Grammy Award-winning 2009 release "21st Century Breakdown" (including "21 Guns" and an unreleased love song, "When It's Time").

For more information and tour dates, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: