Playbill Vault's Today in Theatre History: July 9

Playbill Vault   Playbill Vault's Today in Theatre History: July 9
Stephanie J. Block and Brandon Uranowitz in Falsettos
Stephanie J. Block and Brandon Uranowitz in Falsettos Joan Marcus

1930 In today's Variety, a review of a new vaudeville show at the Eighty-Sixth Street Theatre singles out a newcomer from the world of cabaret. Reads the review: "She is a good looking girl with a fair enough voice that might carry much further with special stuff. This is her first stage appearance. She's out of cabaret so probably has plenty to learn." Her name is Ethel Merman.

1964 Leo Genn is the odd man out as Juror Number 8 as Reginald Rose's hit play 12 Angry Men makes its London debut at the Queen's Theatre. British audiences do not take to the play as well as American audiences did, and the Margaret Webster-directed production closes after only 99 performances.

1995 Ferenc Molnár's The Play's the Thing sees the Broadway stage again, courtesy of Roundabout Theatre Company. Adapted by P.G. Wodehouse, the play features Joe Grifasi, Peter Frechette, Jay Goede, Paul Benedict, J. Smith-Cameron, Jeff Weiss, and Keith Reddin. The Gloria Muzio-helmed production plays 45 performances at the Criterion Center.

2000 The stripping ends at San Diego's The Old Globe as the sold-out hit musical, The Full Monty, already extended past its original July 2 close date, ends its world premiere in Southern California. Next stop for the show by book writer Terrence McNally and composer-lyricist David Yazbek is Broadway, where the lovable losers of The Full Monty open at the Eugene O'Neill Theatre October 26.

2011 Silence! The MusicalHunter Bell, Jon Kaplan, and Al Kaplan's parody of the movie The Silence of the Lambs—opens at Off-Broadway's Theater 80. Christopher Gattelli directs and choreographs the musical starring Brent Barrett as Dr. Hannibal Lecter, and Jenn Harris as Clarice Starling.

2016 Three of the original stars of Hamilton play their final performance in the Tony Award and Pulitzer Prize-winning musical: Lin-Manuel Miranda (Alexander Hamilton), Phillipa Soo (Eliza Hamilton), and Leslie Odom Jr. (Aaron Burr).

Today's Birthdays: Dudley Digges 1879. Roxy Rothafel 1882. Brian Dennehy 1938. Timothy Nolen 1941. Mia Dillon 1955. Jimmy Smits 1955. Tom Hanks 1956. Quentin Earl Darrington 1978. Brandon Uranowitz 1986.

Flip through photos from Lin-Manuel Miranda, Phillipa Soo, and Leslie Odom Jr.'s final Hamilton curtain call:

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
More Today in Theatre History