Playten, Tunie, Rebeck, Wright and More Join Tony Nominating Committee

Tony Awards   Playten, Tunie, Rebeck, Wright and More Join Tony Nominating Committee
The Tony Awards Administration Committee has announced the Nominating Committee for the 2008-2009 Broadway theatre season.
Theresa Rebeck
Theresa Rebeck

Among the newcomers to the 29-member committee are actors Alice Playten, Tamara Tunie and William Tynan and playwrights Theresa Rebeck and Doug Wright.

The Nominating Committee, according to press notes, "attends all productions during the Broadway season, and meets on the date designated by the Administration Committee to determine, by vote, the Tony Award nominees for that season."

The 2008-2009 Tony Nominating Committee follows:

Joe Benincasa - Executive Director, The Actors Fund
Robert Callely - Theatre Executive
*Ben Cameron - Program Director for the Arts, The Doris Duke Charitable Foundation
*Thomas Cott - Producer, Marketing Director
Jacqueline Z. Davis - Executive Director, The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts at Lincoln Center
John Dias - Producer, Dramaturg, Educator
Michael D. Dinwiddie - Associate Professor, Gallatin School of Individualized Study at NYU
Teresa Eyring - Executive Director, Theatre Communications Group Sue Frost - Producer
Joanna Gleason - Actor
*Elena K. Holly - Producing Artistic Director, The Present Company
Betty Jacobs - Script Consultant/Theatre Historian
Geoffrey Johnson - Retired Casting Director
Michael Kantor - Director, Producer, Writer
*Robert Kimball - Author, Theatre Historian
Howard Marren - Composer
Laurence Maslon - Associate Arts Professor, Graduate Acting Program - Tisch School for the Arts at NYU
*Jon Nakagawa - Director, Contemporary Programming, Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts
Phyllis Newman - Actor
*Alice Playten - Actor
*Theresa Rebeck - Playwright
Roger Rees - Actor, Director, Playwright, Lecturer, Administrator
Donald Saddler - Choreographer
Steven Suskin - Theatre Author
*Tamara Tunie - Actor, Producer
*William Tynan - Actor, Journalist
Tom Viola - Executive Director, Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS
Kimberlee Wertz - Music Contractor
*Doug Wright - Playwright
*Andrew Zerman - Casting Director

*New Nominating Committee members The 63rd Annual Antoinette Perry "Tony" Awards will be presented at Radio City Music Hall June 7, 2009. CBS-TV will broadcast the event live.

For more information visit


Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss/White Cherry Entertainment will be executive producers of the 2009 Tony Awards. Weiss will also serve as director of the awards ceremony.

The 2009 Tonys are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. Nina Lannan is chairman and Charlotte St. Martin is executive director of the Broadway League. Theodore S. Chapin is chairman and Howard Sherman is executive director of the American Theatre Wing. For Tony Award Productions, Elizabeth I. McCann is managing producer and Joey Parnes is coordinating producer.

Today’s Most Popular News: