Playwrights Respond to Orlando Attacks With 70 New Short Plays

News   Playwrights Respond to Orlando Attacks With 70 New Short Plays
Neil LaBute, Deborah Zoe Laufer, Lindsey Ferrentino, and Mia Chung are among the writers participating in After Orlando.
Deborah Zoe Laufer
Deborah Zoe Laufer Monica Simoes

Missing Bolts Productions, NoPassport Theatre Alliance, and Broadway producer Daryl Roth have come together to present After Orlando, an international benefit initiative comprising more than 70 short plays written in response to the tragic shooting at Pulse Nightclub on June 12, 2016. Participating playwrights include Neil LaBute, Israel Horovitz, Leah Nanako Winkler, Deborah Zoe Laufer, Lindsey Ferrentino, and Mia Chung.

Leah Nanako Winkler
Leah Nanako Winkler

After Orlando readings will take place internationally through January 31, 2017. Upcoming readings, directed by Wendy C. Goldberg, the artistic director of the National Playwrights Conference at The Eugene O'Neill Theater Center, are scheduled in New York for November 13 and 20 and December 4 and 11 at the DR2 Theatre, located at 103 East 15th Street. Each of the readings will feature a different cast and will be followed by guided discussions on four topics: Art & Activism, Gun Control: The State of the Nation, LGTBQ Community & Hate Crimes, and Art & Terrorism.

“Daryl Roth and Adam Hess originally approached me about the project,” Goldberg told “As gun violence and hate crimes continue to plague our country, I have been increasingly interested in finding a way in my own work to respond. When this project emerged, it felt like the perfect melding of art and activism I have been seeking, and I am honored to participate.”

Additional playwrights participating in After Orlando at the DR2 Theatre include Oladipo Agboluaje, Deborah Asiimwe, J. Julian Christopher, Cecilia Copeland, Migdalia Cruz, Nathan Alan Davis, Erik Ehn, Andy Field, Mark Gerrard, Jacqueline Goldfinger, Garret Jon Groenveld, Dipika Guha, Jeremy O. Harris, Amina Henry, Rose Helsinger, Zac Kline, Jacqueline E. Lawton, David Lee, Joan Lipkin, Jessica Litwak, Anders Lustgarten, Matthew Paul Olmos, Jennifer Maisel, Rohina Malik, Oliver Mayer, Winter Miller, Viet Nguyen, Giovanni Ortega, Monica Palacios, Katie Pearl, Brian James Polak, Brian Quijada, Ian Rowlands, Madeline Sayet, Stephen Sewell, Crystal Skillman, Dave Solomon, Arturo Soria, Saviana Stanescu, Caridad Svich, Jordan Tannahill, Korde Tuttle, Sung Rno, Anne Rumberger, and Ken Urban.

Tickets, priced $50–$75, can be purchased at All proceeds from After Orlando will go to Pulse of Orlando, a non-profit created after the Orlando attacks.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: