Princess Grace Award Winners Announced; Anna D. Shapiro to Receive Special Honor

News   Princess Grace Award Winners Announced; Anna D. Shapiro to Receive Special Honor
Tony Award-winning director Anna D. Shapiro will receive the Princess Grace Statue Award at the Princess Grace Awards ceremony Nov. 10 at at Cipriani 42 Street in Manhattan. The 2010 award winners were announced Aug. 2.

The annual honors recognize achievement and promise in artists working in the fields of theatre, dance and choreography and film. In addition to the financial awards given to the individual artists, companies hosting a 2010 honoree will also receive a General Operating Support grant, which help support general operating expenses for the institution.

Shapiro, who earned acclaim for helming Tracy Letts' August: Osage County, will be presented with the Princess Grace Statue Award. The honor, which includes a $25,000 cash gift, acknowledges the work of a previous Prince Grace Award recipient who has distinguished themselves in their chosen field.

The 2010 Theatre and Playwriting Award recipients follow:

Andrea Assaf, Theatre Fellowship, Gant Gaither Theater Award
Pangea World Theater

Charlotte Brathwaite, Theatre Scholarship, George C. Wolfe Award
Yale School of Drama Shana Cooper, Theatre Fellowship, Robert & Gloria Hausman Award
Oregon Shakespeare Festival

Tom Gleeson, Theatre Fellowship, Fabergé Theater Award
Arden Theatre Company

Virginia Grise, Theatre Apprenticeship, Pierre Cardin Theater Award
Playwrights' Arena

Adam Pinti, Theatre Scholarship, Grace Le Vine Award
Arizona State University

A. Rey Pamatmat, Playwriting Fellowship
New Dramatists Inc.

For further information and a complete list of 2010 Princess Grace Award Recipients in Dance and Film visit Princess Grace Foundation-USA.

Today’s Most Popular News: