Princess Grace Awards for 2004 Announced

News   Princess Grace Awards for 2004 Announced
The Princess Grace Foundation 2004 awards to "outstanding young artists in the arts in the United States" have been announced.

The awards named for Princess Grace of Monaco honor artists in the fields of film, dance, theatre and playwriting. The Foundation, established in 1982 by H.S.H. Prince Rainier, present grants in the form of tuition assistance, apprenticeships and fellowships to the selected artists to assist in their continuing study and training, or furthering their professional goals. The Foundation also inaugurated an additional award this year, the Special Projects Grant, to help former Princess Grace Award winners.

The Theatre Award winners include: Shaun Fillion, 24, California Institute of the Arts, who won the Faberge Theater Award; Sam Gold, 26,The Wooster Group, who claimed the Robert & Gloria Hausman Theater Award; Oscar Isaac, 25, The Juilliard School, who received the Grace Le Vine Theater Award; and Owiso Odera, 30, University of California, San Diego, the winner of the George C. Wolfe Theater Award; Jake Rodriguez, 30, California Shakespeare Theater, taking the Gant Gaither Theater Award; Marion Williams, 30, The Shakespeare Theater of New Jersey, recipient of the Pierre Cardin Theater Award; Don Zolidis, 29, New Dramatists; and designer Paul Tazewell, 40, who won the  Princess Grace Statute, given to a past Award recipient after they received their initial fellowship award.

On the evening of Oct. 27, award recipients will be formally recognized at the annual Princess Grace Awards Black Tie Gala, hosted by Sharon Stone, to be held this year at Manhattan's Cipriani 42nd Street.

For more information on the awards and winners bios, visit The Princess Grace Foundation online at


Today’s Most Popular News: