Prop 8 Ruled Unconstitutional As Dustin Lance Black's 8 Readies for L.A. Debut

News   Prop 8 Ruled Unconstitutional As Dustin Lance Black's 8 Readies for L.A. Debut
The 9th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals has ruled against California's 2008 voter-approved ban on gay marriage. The courtroom drama surrounding Prop 8 was documented in Academy Award winner Dustin Lance Black's stage play 8.

According to CNN, Prop 8, which denies same-sex couples the right to marry in the state of California, "works a meaningful harm to gays and lesbians," a three-judge panel determined. Prop 8 was found to be in violation of the 14th Amendment by a ruling of two to one.

The latest ruling is expected to be appealed and will likely bring the case before the U.S. Supreme Court. A stay on performing gay marriages in California remains in place.

"For now, it suffices to conclude that the people of California may not, consistent with the federal Constitution, add to their state constitution a provision that has no more practical effect than to strip gays and lesbians of the right to use the official designation that the state and society give to committed relationships, thereby adversely affecting the status and dignity of the members of a disfavored class," Circuit Judges Stephen Reinhardt and Michael Daly Hawkins wrote in their ruling.

In September 2011, Academy Award-winning "Milk" screenwriter Dustin Lance Black debuted his play 8 in a starry, one-night-only presentation at the Eugene O'Neill Theatre on Broadway. The play is based on transcripts from the Perry v. Schwarzenegger case, which resulted in Prop 8 being overturned. The case was never televised and videos have yet to be released. The latest trial reflects an appeal of that ruling.

8 continues to roll out in productions across the country. A March 3 presentation in Los Angeles will feature Oscar nominee George Clooney, Matthew Morrison, Jane Lynch and Jesse Tyler Ferguson. Read about it here. On June 24, 2011, New York State became the sixth U.S. state to grant marriage licenses to same-sex couples. States that also allow same sex couples to marry include MA, CT, IA, VT, NH and Washington, D.C.

Today’s Most Popular News: