Public Accepting Applications for 2009 Emerging Writers Group

News   Public Accepting Applications for 2009 Emerging Writers Group
The Public Theater has announced that it is currently accepting submissions for its second annual Emerging Writers Group new-works initiative.

Created in 2007 to nurture playwrights in the early stages of their careers by providing resources and support, the Public will select 12 playwrights for the 2009 program. As part of the Public's Writers Initiative, the theatrical hub will also support writers through additional programming.

Among the playwrights selected for the inaugural 2008 Writers Group were Radha Blank, Leila Buck, Raúl Castillo, Chris Cragin Day, Christina Gorman, Ethan Lipton, Alejandro Morales, Nick Nanna Hadikwa Mwaluko, Don Nguyen, Akin Salawu, Alladin Ullah and Pia Wilson.

In addition to receiving a $3,000 stipend, the playwrights will participate in a biweekly writers group helmed by associate artistic director Mandy Hackett in conjunction with the Public's Literary Department, and attend master classes with established playwrights. Participants will also observe or assist playwrights in rehearsal for productions at the Public.

The Emerging Writers present their works in at least one reading at The Public. Group members also receive complimentary tickets to Public performances as well as supplemental stipends for tickets to productions at other theatres.

"The Emerging Writers Group represents one more way The Public Theater can throw open its doors to extraordinarily talented individuals and provide them with an artistic home," Public artistic director Oskar Eustis said in a statement. "We were thrilled to receive over 700 applications last year and we ultimately selected a diverse group of writers, many of whom did not begin their playwriting careers through traditional channels. We look forward to welcoming twelve new playwrights to the Emerging Writers Group in 2009." The deadline for submission is Aug. 29. The second annual Emerging Writers Group runs January-December 2009. The selection committee includes Oskar Eustis, artistic director; Mandy Hackett, associate artistic director; Liz Frankel, literary associate and other full-time Public artistic staff. Time Warner serves as the founding sponsor of The Public Writers Initiative.

For applications and further details visit

Today’s Most Popular News: