Public Theater Announces 2012-13 Emerging Writers Group Playwrghts

News   Public Theater Announces 2012-13 Emerging Writers Group Playwrghts
The Public Theater has announced the ten playwrights who will make up the 2012-13 Emerging Writers Group, the downtown theatre company's bi-annual program that nurtures the work of new playwrights.

EWG, which targets playwrights at the early stages of their career, is part of the Public Writers Initiative, a long-term program that supports and develops works by writers throughout their careers. The program has produced 50-70 readings and workshops per season in recent years.

The 2012-2013 playwrights include Manuel Borras, A-Lan Holt, Boo Killebrew, Andrew Kramer, Brian "Dyalekt" Kushner, Mary Kathryn Nagle, Harrison David Rivers, Riti Sachdeva, Susan Soon He Stanton and Kyle Warren.

The playwrights receive a $6,000 stipend, and participate in biweekly writers group sessions with Public literary manager Liz Frankel and master classes with established playwrights. Participants also have the chance to observe rehearsals for productions at the Public.

The Public annually showcases the work of the Emerging Writers Group in its "Spotlight Series" presentations. The program is supported by Time Warner.

"The Emerging Writers Group marches forward as we welcome another fiercely talented group of writers to The Public," associate artistic director Mandy Hackett said in a statement. "Smart, original and bursting with energy and ideas, we are thrilled for them to join our family and be in residence with us over the next two years. I want to express our deepest thanks to Time Warner for their visionary leadership in supporting this program." Visit PublicTheater.

Today’s Most Popular News: