Public Theater Seeking 2010 Emerging Writers Group Participants

News   Public Theater Seeking 2010 Emerging Writers Group Participants
The Public Theater is now accepting submissions for the third annual Emerging Writers Group, fostering the work of young American playwrights.

Founded in 2007, the Emerging Writers Group provides ten playwrights with necessary resources and support to hone their craft at one of the most prestigious theatre companies in the nation.

"In two short years, the Emerging Writers Group has become a vital part of The Public's mission," said Public Theater artistic director Oskar Eustis in a statement. "The theatre can only matter if it gives voice to the full, glorious diversity of our country, and the EWG is helping open the doors for a whole new generation of writers."

In addition to receiving a $3,000 stipend, Emerging Writers Group playwrights participate in a biweekly writers group and attend master classes with established playwrights. Participants will also observe rehearsals for productions at the Public.

The Emerging Writers present their works in at least one reading at The Public; work by the 2009 group is currently showcased in the Emerging Writers Group Spotlight Series through June 29. Group members also receive complimentary tickets to Public performances as well as supplemental stipends for tickets to productions at other theatres.

All submission materials must be postmarked by Aug. 28. Finalists will be contacted in early December and will be notified of their status later that month. The third annual Emerging Writers Group commences in January of 2010 and continues through the following December. The ten previously selected writers for the 2009 group include J. Julian Christopher, D.S.A. Deen, Branden Jacobs-Jenkins, Bridget Kelso, Mona Mansour, Vickie Ramirez, Jordan Seavey, Alena Smith, Kevin Christopher Snipes and Lauren Yee. The 2008 group included Radha Blank, Leila Buck, Raúl Castillo, Chris Cragin Day, Christina Gorman, Ethan Lipton, Alejandro Morales, Nick Nanna, Hadikwa Mwaluko, Don Nguyen, Akin Salawu, Alladin Ullah and Pia Wilson.

For applications and guidelines visit PublicTheater.

Today’s Most Popular News: