Recipients of 2011 Jonathan Larson Grants Announced

News   Recipients of 2011 Jonathan Larson Grants Announced
The American Theatre Wing announced March 8 the recipients of the 2011 Jonathan Larson Grants, which are given annually to emerging composers, lyricists and book writers to help continue the late Tony Award-winning composer Jonathan Larson’s dream of "infusing musical theatre with a contemporary, joyful, urban vitality." 

This year's recipients are Danny Larsen (composer/co-lyricist) & Michelle Elliott (book writer/co-lyricist), Cloaked; Marisa Michelson (composer) & Joshua H. Cohen (book writer/lyricist), Tamar and the River; and Andy Monroe (composer), Jack Lechner (lyricist) & Michael Zam (book writer), The Kid.

The grants, totaling $10,000, will be presented March 29 at a private event in New York City, which will feature performances of the recipients’ work.

Recipients were selected by a panel comprising Maria Goyanes (associate producer at The Public Theater), Amanda Green (Bring it On: The Musical) and David Yazbek (The Full Monty, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels, Women on the Verge of Nervous Breakdown).

Dedicated to celebrating excellence and supporting theatre, the American Theatre Wing awards the Larson Grants to artists "to recognize and showcase their work with no strings attached - except to put it to the best use possible to help further the artist's creative endeavors," according to press notes.

Past recipients of the Larson Grants include Tom Kitt & Brian Yorkey (Next to Normal), Chad Beguelin & Matthew Sklar (The Wedding Singer), John Bucchino (A Catered Affair), Laurence O’Keefe (Bat Boy: The Musical), Michael Korie (Grey Gardens) and current selection panel member Amanda Green.

Today’s Most Popular News: