Redgrave, Schwartz, Lloyd Webber and More Inducted Into Theater Hall of Fame Jan. 25

News   Redgrave, Schwartz, Lloyd Webber and More Inducted Into Theater Hall of Fame Jan. 25
The 39th Annual Theater Hall of Fame ceremony will be held Jan. 25 in the Gershwin Theatre's North Rotunda. Pia Lindstrom hosts.
Lynn Redgrave
Lynn Redgrave

The 2009 Theater Hall of Fame inductees include actors Jim Dale, John McMartin and Lynn Redgrave; producers Roger Berlind and Ted Mann; composers Stephen Schwartz and Andrew Lloyd Webber; and, posthumously, the late playwright/actor Charles Ludlam.

Veteran Broadway publicist Shirley Herz will be presented with the 2009 Theater Hall of Fame Founders Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Theatre.

Presenters include playwright John Guare; directors Frank Dunlop, Joseph Hardy and Michael Montel; actor Everett Quinton; and producers Paul Libin, David Stone, Marc Platt and Nick Scandalios. Liz Smith will present Herz with her award.

Eligible nominees must have a minimum of five major credits and 25 years in the Broadway theatre. The inductees are voted on by the American Theater Critics Association and the members of the Theater Hall of Fame.

Last year's inductees included actors Nathan Lane and Richard Easton, playwright Alan Ayckbourn, producer Emanuel Azenberg, choreographer Patricia Birch, composer Marvin Hamlisch, orchestrator Jonathan Tunick and, posthumously, the late actor Roscoe Lee Browne. Terry Hodge Taylor produces.


Roger Berlind has been producing Broadway shows for more than three decades. His numerous credits include Copenhagen; Kiss Me, Kate; Proof; Anna in the Tropics; Caroline, or Change; Wonderful Town; Doubt; The History Boys; Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?; Deuce; and The Year of Magical Thinking. Other recent credits include Curtains, Is He Dead? and Rock 'n' Roll as well as the revival of Gypsy starring Patti LuPone.

Jim Dale won Tony and Drama Desk awards for his work in Barnum, and was most recently seen on Broadway in the Roundabout Theatre Company's production of The Threepenny Opera for which he won the Drama Desk Award and was Tony-nominated. His other Broadway credits include Scapino, Joe Egg, Me and My Girl and Candide.

Playwright-actor Charles Ludlam died in 1987 at the young age of 44. By the time of his death, he had overseen for two decades the creative output of the Ridiculous Theatrical Company, the outrageous and influential troupe he founded in New York City in 1967. Ludlam penned most of the plays which RTC produced, including such noteworthy successes as Bluebeard, Camille and The Mystery of Irma Vep. The company's productions were known for their outlandish brand of camp melodrama and gender-bending performances. Ludlam typically starred, often in drag and in fantastical, over-the-top costumes and make-up.

Theodore Mann is the co-founder of Circle in the Square Theatre, whose numerous productions include Mourning Becomes Electra, Moon for the Misbegotten, Long Days Journey Into Night and the more recent Frozen, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee and The Norman Conquests.

A five-time Tony nominee for his work in Sweet Charity, Don Juan, Show Boat, High Society and the revival of Into the Woods, John McMartin's other Broadway credits include Grey Gardens, Artist Descending a Staircase, A Little Family Business, Solomon's Child, Happy New Year, The Rules of the Game, Love for Love, Chemin de Fer, The Visit, The Great God Brown, Follies, A Rainy Day in Newark, Children From Their Games, The Conquering Hero and Blood, Sweat and Stanley Pope.

Last seen on Broadway in The Constant Wife (Tony nomination) Lynn Redgrave's other theatrical credits include Talking Heads, The Exonerated, Black Comedy, Aren't We All, Moon Over Buffalo and another Tony-nominated turn in Mrs. Warren's Profession. She was nominated for Academy Awards for her work in the films "Gods and Monsters" and "Georgy Girl."

Stephen Schwartz, a Dramatists Guild council member, composed the scores for Wicked, Godspell, Pippin, The Magic Show, The Baker's Wife and Children of Eden and the lyrics for Rags. He has also written for several film musicals, including "Pocahontas," "The Hunchback of Notre Dame," "The Prince of Egypt" and the TV musical "Geppetto." His solo CDs of new songs are titled "Reluctant Pilgrim" and "Uncharted Territory." Schwartz is the recipient of three Academy Awards, three Grammy Awards and three Drama Desk Awards. Wicked currently plays Broadway's Gershwin Theatre.

Andrew Lloyd Webber is the award-winning composer of The Likes of Us, Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, Jesus Christ Superstar, Evita, Cats, By Jeeves, The Phantom of the Opera, Aspects of Love, Sunset Boulevard, Starlight Express, Whistle Down the Wind, The Woman in White, The Beautiful Game and Song & Dance. Among his producing credits are Bombay Dreams and the current West End revival of The Sound of Music. Lloyd Webber also took part in the TV reality casting shows for The Sound of Music and the current London revival of Joseph. He also owns seven London theatres, including the Palace, the Theatre Royal Drury Lane and the London Palladium. His newest musical, Love Never Dies, will bow in London and New York in 2010.

Today’s Most Popular News: