Revisit the Shows That Gave These Artists the 'T' in EGOT | Playbill

Tony Awards Revisit the Shows That Gave These Artists the 'T' in EGOT

From Jennifer Hudson to Andrew Lloyd Webber, here's every person who's ever earned an EGOT.

With the Tony Awards just around the corner, Playbill rounded up the shows that gave these EGOT winners their coveted "T," from Liza Minnelli to Whoopi Goldberg to Elton John, the most recent EGOT winner. Test your knowledge with the gallery below.

EGOT is an acronym for four major awards: the Emmy, Grammy, Oscar, and Tony. To join the exclusive EGOT club, an individual must win all four awards, covering a range of disciplines from recorded music and film to live theater. This designation is regarded as the "grand slam" of American entertainment, with 19 people having achieved it through competitive awards and 6 others through at least one honorary award.

How They Got Their "T" in EGOT

The full list of EGOT winners includes Richard Rodgers, Helen Hayes, Rita Moreno, John Gielgud, Audrey Hepburn, Marvin Hamlisch, Jonathan Tunick, Mel Brooks, Mike Nichols, Whoopi Goldberg, Scott Rudin, Robert Lopez, Andrew Lloyd Webber, Tim Rice, John Legend, Alan Menken, Jennifer Hudson, Viola Davis, and Elton John.

The 2024 Tony Awards nominees aren't looking to get an EGOT, but for a number of them, winning the Tony will put them one step closer to the honor. Stereophonic composer Will Butler and Hell's Kitchen composer Alicia Keys are both Grammy winners. The Outsiders producer Angelina Jolie and Purlie Victorious producer Samuel L. Jackson both have Oscars.

READ: How Close Are the 2023 Tony Winners to an EGOT?

The 77th Annual Tony Awards are set for June 16 at Lincoln Center's David H. Koch Theater. The evening will kick off with The Tony Awards: Act One, streaming for free on Pluto TV. Details are to be announced. The 77th Annual Tony Awards will follow beginning at 8 PM ET, broadcasting live on CBS (check local listings) and streaming live (for premium-level subscribers) via Paramount+. All Paramount+ subscribers will have on demand access to the broadcast beginning June 17. Stage and screen star Ariana DeBose will be back for the third consecutive year to host.

Visit for more.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!