Ricky Ian Gordon's Obie-Winning "Orpheus" Due From Ghostlight in January

News   Ricky Ian Gordon's Obie-Winning "Orpheus" Due From Ghostlight in January
Ghostlight Records, a division of Sh-K-Boom Records, will release Ricky Ian Gordon's Obie-winning song cycle Orpheus & Euridice in January 2007.
Ricky Ian Gordon
Ricky Ian Gordon Photo by Aubrey Reuben

The two-act song cycle, based on the classic Greek myth, was commissioned by Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts. The musical piece premiered Oct. 5, 2005, at the Rose Theater and featured soprano Elizabeth Futral, clarinetist Todd Palmer and pianist Melvin Chen. That trio reunited this past April to record the single CD. The new recording "Orpheus & Euridice: A Song Cycle in Two Acts" was produced, recorded, mixed and edited by Joel Moss and marks Ghostlight's first venture into the classical realm. About that venture, Kurt Deutsch, the head of Ghostlight, said in a statement, "Ricky Ian Gordon is one of the most gifted composers working today. Whether in the musical theatre or opera worlds, his works are to be treasured and preserved for all to hear and it is our honor to have done so."

The complete track listing for "Orpheus & Euridice" follows:
They Dance
The Underworld
The Journey Back
Song Two

Ricky Ian Gordon’s My Life with Albertine was presented at Playwrights Horizons. His other works include Dream True, States of Independence, Stonewall/Night Variations, The Tibetan Book of the Dead, Only Heaven, Autumn Valentine, Sweet Song and Morning Star. His songs have been recorded by such artists as Betty Buckley, Audra McDonald and Dawn Upshaw. PS Classics released Gordon's Dream True with a cast headed by Victoria Clark, Jessica Molaskey, Jason Danieley, Brian d'Arcy James, Kelli O'Hara, Jeff McCarthy, Clark Thorell and Michael McElroy.

Ghostlight Records is located at www.ghostlightrecords.com.

Today’s Most Popular News: