Rinne Groff Wins Whiting Writing Award | Playbill

News Rinne Groff Wins Whiting Writing Award
Rinne Groff, whose Ruby Sunrise is on view at the Public Theater, has won one of the 2005 Whiting Writer's Awards.

The prizes are given  "to emerging writers of exceptional talent and promise." She was the only playwright honored this year. Each receipient is given $40,000. Groff, who is also a performer, is the author of Jimmy Carter Was a Democrat, The Moliere Impromptu, Orange Lemon Egg Canary, What Then, Inky, Seven Supermans, and The Five Hysterical Girls Theorem. Her plays have been seen at Trinity Rep, Actors Theatre of Louisville, the Women's Project, P.S. 122, Clubbed Thumb, Target Margin, and Andy's Summer Playhouse.

Winners of the Whiting Awards are chosen by a small anonymous selection committee of recognized writers, literary scholars, and editors, appointed annually by the Whiting Foundation. Past winners include Evan Smith, Melissa James Gibson, Tony Kushner and Sarah Ruhl.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!