Ross Lekites and Evy Ortiz Are New Lovers of West Side Story Tour

News   Ross Lekites and Evy Ortiz Are New Lovers of West Side Story Tour
Casting has been announced for the second year of the national tour of the recent Broadway revival of West Side Story.

Evy Ortiz
Evy Ortiz

Star-crossed lovers Tony and Maria will be played by Ross Lekites and Evy Ortiz, respectively. Lekites has been seen in the tour of Joseph... and in regional productions of The Full Monty, Jesus Christ Superstar and South Pacific. Ortiz appeared in the Off-Broadway production of The Fantasticks and in regional stagings of A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum and The Seagull.

Drew Foster, the tour's original Action, is now playing the role of Riff, while Mike Boland, the tour's original Krupke, now stars as Schrank.

The tour also welcomes Jon Drake as Action, Wally Dunn as Krupke, Casey Garvin as Diesel, Harris Milgrim as Snowboy, Christopher Rice as Baby John and Clay Thomson as A-rab. Laura Irion, Gizel Jimenez and Eric Anthony Johnson join the company as new ensemble members.

Continuing with the tour are Michelle Aravena as Anita, German Santiago as Bernardo, Stephen DeRosa as Glad Hand, Alexandra Frohlinger as Anybodys, Jay Garcia as Chino, Nathan Keen as Big Deal, John O'Creagh as Doc, along with Karolina Blonski, Alicia Charles, Lauryn Ciardullo, Dean Andre de Luna, Lori Ann Ferreri, Ryan Ghysels, Tim Hausmann, Nicole Hellman, Thayne Jasperson, Patrick Ortiz, Kristen Paulicelli, Christie Portera, Waldemar Quinones-Villanueva, Alexandra Blake Redelico, Michael Scirrotto, Jeffrey C. Sousa, Dani Spieler, Jessica Swesey, Kathryn Lin Terza and Kirstin Tucker.

Tony Award-winning librettist Arthur Laurents' Broadway direction is re-created for the tour by David Saint, the associate director on Broadway. The original Jerome Robbins choreography is reproduced by Tony Award nominee Joey McKneely. West Side Story features scenic designs by James Youmans, costumes by Tony Award nominee David C. Woolard, lighting by Tony Award winner Howell Binkley, sound design by Tony Award nominee Dan Moses Schreier and hair by Mark Adam Rampmeyer.

The classic musical was penned by two-time Tony Award winner Arthur Laurents (book) and multiple Tony and Grammy Award winners Leonard Bernstein (music) and Stephen Sondheim (lyrics).

The tour is produced by Kevin McCollum, James L. Nederlander, Jeffrey Seller with Terry Allen Kramer, Sander Jacobs, Roy Furman / Jill Furman Willis, Robyn Goodman / Walt Grossman, Hal Luftig, Roy Miller and Broadway Across America.   

Today’s Most Popular News: