Samuel French Off-Off Broadway Short Play Festival Adds Judges

News   Samuel French Off-Off Broadway Short Play Festival Adds Judges
Abingdon Theatre Company artistic director Jan Buttram and theatrical literary agent Mark Subias have been added to the judging panel of the 34th annual Samuel French Off-Off Broadway Short Play Festival.

Over 40 playwrights will have their one-act plays showcased in the weeklong festival at the Peter Jay Sharp Theatre July 14-19. At the conclusion of the festival, the judges will select six of the short plays to be licensed and published in a collection by Samuel French, Inc.

In addition to Buttram and Subias, newly announced panelists include artistic directors Evans Haile (The Cape Playhouse), Julia Hansen (Aspen's Theater Masters), William Hayes (Palm Beach Dramaworks), Jeffrey Rosenstock (Queens Theatre in the Park) and Jim Simpson (The Flea Theater); as well as theatrical literary agents Elaine Devlin (Elaine Devlin Literary, Inc.), Derek Zasky (William Morris Endeavor), Ron Gwiazda (Abrams Artists Agency) and Jessica Sarbo (The Gersh Agency).

Previously announced judges include Charles Busch (The Tale of the Allergists Wife, Die Mommie Die), Arthur Kopit (Nine, Wings), Leslie Lee (First Breeze of Summer, Black Eagles), Jordan Harrison (Doris to Darlene, Amazons and Their Men) and Billy Van Zandt (Love, Sex and the I.R.S., The Property Known as Garland).

The 34th Annual Samuel French Off-Off-Broadway Short Play Festival will present the bus that got cut over its eye by Matthew Paul Olmos; Airborne by Laura Jacqmin; American Royal by Gabe McKinley; Amphibians by Casey Wimpee; (baptism) by Harrison David Rivers; Barron, CA by Jessica Hinds; The Cooking King by Sharon E. Cooper; Diving Kitty by Suzanne Bachner; Doll Play by Tony Glazer; The Dorsal Striatum by Trish Harnetiaux; Drop by Pete Barry and J. Michael DeAngelis; The Education of Macoloco by Jen Silverman; Foreclosure by George Cameron Grant; Free Play by Michael Niederman; Generation Graffiti by Janine Nabers; Gilbert, or Death by Obituary by Michael Vukadinovich; H.R. by Eric Coble; The Hardly Wonder by Jason Gray Platt; Humble Pie by Leslie Gwyn; I Can Tell Your Handbag is Fake by Dean Lundquist; Just Knots by Christina Gorman; Laying Off by James McLindon; Metro Psalm by J. Julian Christopher; Mom Was a Carney by Andrew Podell; Monday by Gloria Williams; The Monster by Eric Fallen; Nine Point Eight Meters Per Second Per Second by Pete Barry; realer than that by Kitt Lavoie; Slutty Slutty Butterslut: Three Pieces About Baking by Lucy Alibar, with music by Lucy Alibar and Portia Krieger; The Student by Matt Hoverman; Survival by Dano Madden; Teddy Ballgame by Caitlin Mitchell; This is Jeopardy by Killian Beldy; Thucydides by Scott Elmegreen and Drew Fornarola; A Time Ripe and Rare by Sue Bigelow and Carol Davis; Toad Suck by Rebecca Cohen; Up With (Some) People by Joshua Conkel; We Appear To Have Company by Greg Freier; We Semi-Solids Melting Into Air by Jon Kern; and Yes Yes Yes by David Johnston.

The Samuel French Off-Off-Broadway Short Play Festival finalists will be announced July 19. Tickets, priced $18, may be purchased by phoning (212) 279-4200 or by visiting The Peter Jay Sharp Theatre is located at 416 West 42nd Street in Manhattan.

Today’s Most Popular News: