Sanaa Lathan, Knock Me a Kiss, Andre De Shields, Andre Holland Among 2011 Audelco Award Winners | Playbill

News Sanaa Lathan, Knock Me a Kiss, Andre De Shields, Andre Holland Among 2011 Audelco Award Winners
Recipients of the 39th Annual Vivian Robinson/Audelco Awards for Excellence in Black Theatre, for work in New York City, were announced Nov. 14 at a ceremony in Harlem.

The awards were established in 1973 by Vivian Robinson "to generate more recognition, understanding and awareness of the arts in African-American communities; to provide better public relations and to build new audiences for non-profit theatre and dance companies."

This year's Rising Star Award went to to Eden Sanaa Duncan-Smith, who at age 11, made her Broadway debut as the character Raynell Maxon in the 2010 Tony Award-winning revival of August Wilson's Fences, featuring Denzel Washington and Viola Davis. She was recently a Young Nala in Disney's Broadway production of The Lion King.

The 2011 Audelco Award Recipients

Best Dramatic Play
Knock Me a Kiss

Lead Actor
Andre De Shields
Knock Me a Kiss Lead Actress (TIE)
Kimberlee Monroe
Nobody Knew Where They Was
Sanaa Lathan
By the Way, Meet Vera Stark

Supporting Actress
Marie Thomas
Knock Me a Kiss

Supporting Actor
Andre Holland
The Whipping Man

Outstanding Performance (Male)
Tommi Thompson
The Widow and Miss Mamie

Outstanding Performance (Female)
Toni Seawright
The Widow and Miss Mamie

Outstanding Musical Director
Ron Granger
The Widow and Miss Mamie

Solo Performance
Stephanie Berry
The Shaneequa Chronicles

Charles Smith
Knock Me a Kiss

Director (Dramatic)
Chuck Smith
Knock Me a Kiss

Director (Musical)
Lee Kirk
The Widow and Miss Mamie

Shirley Prendergast
Knock Me a Kiss

Set Design
Anthony Davidson
Knock Me a Kiss

Tracy Jack
It Ain't Nothin' But the Blues

Ali Turns
Knock Me a Kiss

Outstanding Ensemble Performance
Playing with Heiner Mueller

Production of the Year (TIE)
The Widow and Miss Mamie
Ain't Nothin' But the Blues

Recipient of the Board of Directors Award
Rome Neal
Jackie Jeffries
Jacquetta L. McMurray

Outstanding Pioneer Awards
Felix E. Cochren
Mary Alice Smith
James Pringle

Special Achievement Awards
Clifford B. Simmons of Blue Nile Passage
Journalist, Playwright and Director Hazel Rosetta Smith
Fortune Society
Significant Elders


Honorary chairs for the 39th Annual AUDELCO Awards were LaTanya Richardson Jackson, Samuel L. Jackson, Hattie Winston and Harold Wheeler.

The Academy Award nominated actor Samuel L. Jackson (currently starring in The Mountaintop on Broadway) and his actress wife LaTanya Richardson Jackson ("Sleepless in Seattle," "Malcolm X") served as honorary co-Chairpersons. The Obie and Drama-Logue Award-winning actress, singer and director Hattie Winston, with her orchestrator husband Harold Wheeler (a Tony Award nominee and Drama Desk Award winner), were this year's co-chairpersons.

The ceremony's co-hosts were NY-1 anchor Cheryl Wills and co-founder of Def Poetry Jam Danny Simmons.

The awards were given at HarlemStage/Aaron Davis Hall in Harlem.

Sanaa Lathan
Sanaa Lathan Photo by Joan Marcus

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!