Schedule of Shows Announced for Sept. 25-26 NAMT New Musical Fest

News   Schedule of Shows Announced for Sept. 25-26 NAMT New Musical Fest
The complete schedule has been finalized for the National Alliance for Musical Theatre's 17th Annual Festival of New Musicals, to run Sept. 25-26.

For those planning to attend one or more of the eight shows, the line-up is as follows:

Sunday, Sept. 25 (evening program):
6-7 PM: NAMT Songwriter Showcase
8-8:45 PM: A Little Princess
8-8:45 PM: The Funkentine Rapture
9:15-10 PM: Meet John Doe
9:15-10 PM: I Love You Because

Monday, Sept. 26 (morning-afternoon program)
10-10:45 AM: River's End
10-10:45 AM: Caraboo, Princess Of Javasu
11:15-12 PM: Party Come Here
11:15-12 PM: Ace
12:30-1:15 PM: Meet John Doe
12:30-1:15 PM: I Love You Because
2:30-3:15 PM: Party Come Here
2:30-3:15 PM: The Funkentine Rapture
3:45-4:30 PM: River's End
3:45-4:30 PM: Caraboo, Princess Of Javasu
5-5:45 PM: A Little Princess
5-5:45 PM: Ace

Among the Broadway and Off-Broadway-bred talent to be featured are actors Fyvush Finkel, Hunter Foster, Stephanie D'Abruzzo, Celia Keenan-Bolger Terrence Mann, Will Chase, Julia Murney, Christiane Noll, Donna Lynne Champlin, Billy Porter, Michael Rupert, Matt Farnsworth and Jodie Langel.

The directors trusted with piloting the lucky octet of shows are Lonny Price, Susan H. Schulman, Will Frears, Joe Calarco, Steve Minning, Lee Summers, Daniel Kutner and Lee Sankowich. The eight selections for this year’s festival, with casting, are:

  • Ace
    Book and Lyrics by Robert Taylor and Richard Oberacker
    Music by Richard Oberacker
    With Christiane Noll, Adam Monley
    Directed by Steve Minning
  • Caraboo, Princess Of Javasu
    Book by Marsha Norman
    Lyrics by Beth Blatt
    Music by Jenny Giering
    With Celia Keenan Bolger, Andrew Lippa
    Directed by Will Frears
  • The Funkentine Rapture
    Book by Lee Summers and Ben Blake
    Music and Lyrics by Lee Summers
    With Billy Porter, Marva Hicks
    Directed by Lee Summers
  • I Love You Because
    Book and Lyrics by Ryan Cunningham
    Music by Joshua Salzman
    With Stephanie D'Abruzzo Directed by Daniel Kutner
  • A Little Princess
    Book and Lyrics by Brian Crawley
    Music by Andrew Lippa
    With Will Chase, Julia Murney
    Directed by Susan H. Schulman
  • Meet John Doe
    Book by Andrew Gerle and Eddie Sugarman
    Lyrics by Eddie Sugarman
    Music by Andrew Gerle
    With Donna Lynne Champlin, Michael Rupert
    Directed by Joe Calarco
  • Party Come Here
    Book by Daniel Goldfarb
    Music and Lyrics by David Kirshenbaum
    With Fyvush Finkel, Hunter Foster, Terrence Mann
    Directed by Lonny Price
  • River's End
    Book and Lyrics by Cheri Coons
    Music by Chuck Larkin
    With Matt Farnsworth and Jodie Langel
    Directed by Lee Sankowich According to an festival spokesperson, last year's event directly led to five of the eight shows securing productions. They were: The Drowsy Chaperone (to be done at the Ahmanson Theatre, November 2005), The Flight of the Lawnchair Man (Goodspeed Musicals, May 2005), The Girl in the Frame (Goodspeed Musicals, November 2005), Striking 12 (TheatreWorks Palo Alto, December 2004) and Winesburg, OH (The Arden Theatre Company, October 2005).

    The festival is funded by contributions to NAMT, a not-for-profit organization, and is supported in part by an award from the National Endowment for the Arts, which believes that a great nation deserves great art, and by public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts, a State agency.

    A Sept. 25 Songwriter Showcase will be hosted by Rachel Sheinkin, Tony Award winner for Best Book of a Musical for The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee and a writer of Striking 12.


  • Today’s Most Popular News: