See Which Tony Winning Star Was Tapped to Host the 2015 Jimmy Awards

News   See Which Tony Winning Star Was Tapped to Host the 2015 Jimmy Awards
Two-time Tony Award-winning actress Sutton Foster has been tapped to host the seventh annual National High School Musical Theatre Awards/Jimmy Awards in New York City on June 29.

Selected from across the U.S., 52 high school student finalists will perform in the ceremony at the Minskoff Theatre, currently home to the Broadway musical The Lion King. Winners will be selected by a panel of judges composed of notable theatre professionals.

Now in its seventh year, the event sees more than 50,000 students from over 1,000 high schools throughout the country compete for a chance to travel to Manhattan, where they are put up in a hotel, rehearse with theatre professionals and perform at the final award ceremony on a Broadway stage. Student performers qualify to compete in the national program by winning top honors at regional high school musical theatre awards competitions.

Sutton Foster
Sutton Foster Photo by Laura Marie Duncan

The event, which is now being overseen by the Broadway League Foundation for the first time, aims to raise the profile of musical theatre in schools, recognize dedicated teachers and inspire the next generation of performers and enthusiasts.

"We look forward to our connection with the thousands of young adults who are competing and keeping them in the Broadway family," the Broadway League's president Charlotte St. Martin told earlier in the year. "Whether they become lifelong Broadway theatregoers or industry professionals, they will preserve and enhance the future of musical theater."

Foster, who can currently be seen starring in the TV Land series, “Younger," earned Tony Awards for her performances in Anything Goes and Thoroughly Modern Millie. Visit NHSMTA for more information about the National High School Musical Theatre Awards. The full list of 2015 nominees is below:

City, State

Best Actor Nominee

Best Actress Nominee

Atlanta, GA

Nick Eibler

McKenzie Kurtz

Charlotte, NC

Justin Norwood

Lauren Hunkele

Chicago, IL

Ben Love

Grace Etzkorn

Dallas, TX

Chris Clark

Katelyn Cave

Denver, CO

Evatt Salinger

Emma Buchanan

Des Moines, IA

Lincoln Ginsberg

Jessica Martens

Durham, NC

Alex Fernandez

Faith Jones

East Lansing, MI

Aleksander Papanastasopoulos

Maddy Mathias

Houston, TX

Alec Michael Ryan

Audrey McKee

Kansas City, MO

Austin Dalgleish

Maggie Marx

Las Vegas, NV

Deylan Dean

Courtney Neistadt

Logan, UT

Jordan Kirkham

Abby Watts

Los Angeles, CA

Josh Velez

Brianna Bryan

Madison, WI

Rayven Burdette

Emily Matt

Memphis, TN

Maclean Mayers

Erica Peninger

Mission Viejo, CA

Anthony Skillman

Morgan Higgins

New York, NY

Ryan Koerber

Marla Louissaint

Norwich, CT


Zac Gottschall

Chiara Giampietro

Omaha, NE

Marcel Daley

Emma Brown

Pittsburgh, PA

Larry McKay

Marnie Quick

Rochester, NY

Noah Barnes

Molly Feldman

San Antonio, TX

Travis Anderson

Sabrina Uriegas

San Diego, CA Tucson, AZ

Gino Cocchi

Catherine Ames

San Jose, CA

Sam O’Byrne

Perry Borders

Seattle, WA

Andrew Henson

Hannah Sulak

Tampa, FL

Kamari Saxon

Kylie Heyman

Today’s Most Popular News: