Shaina Taub Named Recipient of Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award | Playbill

Industry News Shaina Taub Named Recipient of Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award The singer, composer, and actor has been awarded The Ziegfeld Club’s $10,000 prize.
Shaina Taub Russell Rowland

The Ziegfeld Club, Inc. has named singer, composer, and actor Shaina Taub the recipient of the Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award, a $10,000 grant created to support an emerging female musical theatre composer. Taub will also receive one year of artistic and professional mentorship from a prominent composer and producer.

Sasha Arutyunova

Taub will be honored at an award ceremony November 6 at the New Amsterdam Theatre, where she will also perform. Director Leigh Silverman will be the evening’s distinguished speaker.

Taub’s musical adaptations of Twelfth Night and As You Like It, both commissioned by The Public Theater, were seen on the Delacorte Theater stage as part of the Off-Broadway theatre’s Public Works initiative. As a performer, she is a Lucille Lortel Award nominee for her role in the Off-Broadway staging of Natasha, Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812.

Taub’s concert work includes a Lincoln Center solo debut in the American Songbook series, as well as residencies at Ars Nova and Rockwood Music Hall. She has released two EPs and a full-length album titled Visitors.

Past recipients of the Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award are composer/lyricists Masi Asare and Anna Jacobs.

The 2017 recipient of the Billie Burke Ziegfeld Award was selected by panels that included Jen Bender, Eric Cornell, Mindi Dickstein, Michael John LaChiusa, John Margulis, Polly Pen, Andy Sandberg, Shea Sullivan, Rachel Sussman, Nadav Wiesel, and John Zindarsic.

For more information on The Ziegfeld Club visit

See Jose Llana and Nikki M. James in Twelfth Night

Latest News

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!